Dating back to 1914, the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is the oldest cup competition in United States soccer and is among the oldest in the world. Open to all affiliated amateur and professional teams in the United States, the annual U.S. Open Cup is a single-elimination tournament.

The U.S. Open Cup is very similar to the domestic cup competitions popular in Europe, South America and the rest of the world. Cup competitions, which usually run concurrent with a country's league sason, are open in the early stages to any club that can qualify, giving local amateur teams a chance to compete against the best teams a country has to offer.

MLS teams have taken part in the competition and dominated it since 1996, making the tournament a true "national" championship. In fact, the only non-MLS team to win the title since 1996 were the Rochester Raging Rhinos in 1999, with former Dynamo goalkeeper Pat Onstad in net. The Chicago Fire have won four Open Cup titles.

Beginning in 2012, all domestic MLS clubs directly entered the competition in the third round.

Opponent Result Round
Carolina (PDL) W 4-2 Fourth Round
FC Dallas W 3-0 Quarterfinals
LA Galaxy L 3-1 Semifinals
Opponent Result Round
Charleston (USL1) L 1-0 AET Third Round
Opponent Result Round
Charleston (USL1) T 1-1 (Lost 4-3 on PKs) Third Round
Opponent Result Round
Austin (USL1) W 2-0 Third Round
Charleston (USL1) W 4-0 Quarterfinals
Seattle L 2-1 AET Semifinals
Opponent Result Round
Miami FC (USSF D2) W 1-0 Third Round
Chivas USA L 2-1 Fourth Round
Opponent Result Round
Sporting KC L 1-0 AET Qualification
Opponent Result Round
San Antonio Scorpions (NASL) L 1-0 Third Round
Opponent Result Round
FC Tucson (PDL) W 2-0 Third Round
FC Dallas L 3-0 Fourth Round
Opponent Result Round
Laredo Heat (PDL) W 2-0 Third Round
FC Dallas L 3-2 AET Fourth Round
Opponent Result Round
Austin Aztex (USL) W 2-0 Fourth Round
Colorado Rapids W 1-0 Fifth Round
Sporting KC L 3-1 Quarterfinals
Opponent Result Round
San Antonio FC (USL) W 4-0 Fourth Round
Sporting Kansas City W 3-1 Fifth Round
FC Dallas L 0-1 Quarterfinals