SuperLiga 2010 dates and venues announced

Dynamo to host SuperLiga matches for third time in four years


Photo Credit: 
Bob Levey / Getty

Major League Soccer and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol (FMF)
today unveiled the dates and venues for the 2010 edition of SuperLiga. The fourth installment of the tournament – which features top U.S. and
Mexican soccer clubs and awards the winner with one of the biggest purses in
the region – will begin Wednesday, July 14, just three days following the
conclusion of this summer’s FIFA World Cup.

The first round of the 2010 edition will be staged in an eight-day
span that will include doubleheader dates at Toyota Park in the Chicago area (July 17) and Robertson Stadium in Houston
(July 18). Information for the semifinals
and final to be played in August will be announced once teams qualify.

criteria determined which four teams would represent the United States
in the tournament. Based on their 2009 regular season record, the top four MLS
teams (who are not competing in the 2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League)
qualified for SuperLiga 2010: Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Houston Dynamo, and
New England Revolution. The four invited Mexican clubs
participating in this edition of SuperLiga will be known later this spring,
following the conclusion of the current tournament.

In its history, SuperLiga has
crowned two Mexican champions (Pachuca, 2007 and
Tigres, 2009) and one U.S.
champion (New England Revolution, 2008). All three championship games have been
determined by penalty kicks. During the inaugural edition of SuperLiga, Pachuca defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.
on Aug. 30, 2007. In 2008, the all-MLS final saw the Revolution defeat
the Houston Dynamo at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough,
Mass. In 2009, Tigres UANL of Mexico defeated the Chicago Fire in front of a sell-out
crowd at Toyota Park.

For ticket information, fans
are encouraged to contact the local MLS club. The entire tournament will once
again be broadcast live by TeleFutura in the United States.

Groups and
schedule for SuperLiga 2010 will be announced in the spring.

SuperLiga 2010

* Subject to change

Wednesday, July 14
Game 1: Venue TBD – Boston / Foxborough,
Game 2: Toyota Park
– Bridgeview, IL

Thursday, July 15
Game 3: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 4: The Home Depot Center – Carson,

Saturday, July 17
Game 5: Toyota Park
– Bridgeview, IL
Game 6: Toyota Park
– Bridgeview, IL

Sunday, July 18
Game 7: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 8: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX

Tuesday, July 20
Game 9: Venue TBD – Boston / Foxborough,
Game 10: Toyota Park
– Bridgeview, IL

Wednesday, July 21
Game 11: Robertson Stadium –
Houston, TX
Game 12: The Home Depot Center – Carson,

About Major League
Headquartered in New York City, Major League Soccer is the top-flight
professional soccer league in the United States
and Canada.
MLS features many stars from the U.S.,
and around the world. MLS kicks off its 15th season on March 25, 2010. MLS
features 16 clubs each playing 30 regular season matches in 2010. Those teams
include Chicago Fire; Colorado Rapids; Chivas USA; Columbus Crew; D.C. United;
FC Dallas; Houston Dynamo; Kansas City Wizards; Los Angeles Galaxy; New York
Red Bulls; New England Revolution; 2009 MLS Cup Champion Real Salt Lake; San
Jose Earthquakes; Seattle Sounders FC; Toronto FC; and, in their inaugural
season, Philadelphia Union. Expansion teams in Vancouver
and Portland
will debut in 2011. For more information about MLS, log on to the League’s
official website at

About Mexican
Federation’s First Division:
The Mexican First Division,
the top flight professional league of the Federacion Mexicana de Futbol (FMF),
features a total of 18 teams who vie for the championship decided by a playoff
system known as “la Liguilla”, is home to some of Latin
America’s top players and teams that are considered some of the
best in this hemisphere. Mexican clubs have shown their quality not just
within their own country but also the Americas’ most prestigious
competitions. For more information, visit the Federation’s official site: