Academy wins playoff opener vs. No. 3 seed

Matamoros, Castillo score as Houston breaks Colorado Rush's 24-game unnbeaten streak


Photo Credit: 
Wilf Thorne/Houston Dynamo

The Houston Dynamo Academy stunned the Colorado Rush
with a 2-1 win Saturday morning in both teams’ USSF Development Academy playoff
opener, breaking the Rush’s 24-game unbeaten streak and seizing control of
their four-team playoff group. Only the group winner will advance to the
Development Academy Finals Week in Carson, Calif., July 10-17.

Forwards Abé Matamoros (Strake Jesuit) and Martin
Castillo (Pasadena Sam Rayburn) scored goals in the Houston win. More details will
follow from Greensboro.

>>Dynamo Academy U-18s<<

To see Houston's first goal on Saturday, go to 1:08 of the video below:

The Dynamo, officially seeded 25th among 32 playoff teams, are back in
action Sunday afternoon against No. 14 CASL from Raleigh, N.C., which tied No. 18
D.C. United 1-1 in the other Group D game.

Colorado entered the playoffs as the No. 3 overall
seed based on its 19-1-8 overall record and 2.32 points per game. The Rush,
however, finished second in the Frontier Division due to their seven ties in
division play. Still, Colorado posted a 3-1 win over the Dynamo’s Texas
Division foe, Dallas Texans Houston, and tied defending champion Indiana United
during the regular season. The Rush had not lost in 24 games (16-0-8) since a
2-1 setback on February 10 against the Kansas City Wizards Juniors.

The Dynamo struggled during the second half of their
season after midfielder Francisco Navas Cobo signed a professional contract
with the first team, but Houston qualified for the playoffs as one of 12
wildcard teams after a strong performance in the Spring Showcase in Sarasota in
late May.

Now games against CASL and D.C. United stand between
the Dynamo and a trip to Finals Week.

Houston Dynamo vs. Colorado Rush
June 26, 2010 –- Bryan Park, Greensboro NC
USSF Development Academy Playoffs - Group D

Scoring Summary:

COL -- Abdoulie Jatta 19
HOU -- Abe Matamoros 20
HOU -- Martin Castillo 65

Houston Dynamo -- Pat Wall, Miguel Zapata, C.J. Odenigwe, Sebastien Ibeagha, Benji Saenz (Leo Ayala 29), Irvinn Ramirez (Manuel Chavez 88), Bryan Celis, Steven Salinas, Josue Morales (Christian Camera 61), Abe Matamoros, Martin Castillo (Eloy Gonzalez Litan 74).

Colorado Rush -- Famara Bojang, Zach Davis, Reid Hukari, Jared Roberts (Alex Merrill 79), Ken Tribbett, Matt Kerridge, Garrett Seitz, Cole Chapleski (Alex Frazier 68), Abdoulie Jatta (Benjamin Glass 68), Baboucarr Jammeh, Justin Miller (Nicolas Morabito 46).

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial.


Pos. Group D
W L T Pts GD
1 Houston Dynamo 1 0 0 3 +1
2 CASL 0 0 1 1 0

D.C. United 0 0 1 1 0
4 Colorado Rush 0 1 0 0 -1