Navas Cobo named to U.S. Milk Cup roster

Academy product will travel to Northern Ireland with U.S. U-20 national team


Photo Credit: 
Wilf Thorne / Houston Dynamo

U.S. U-20 men’s national team head coach Thomas Rongen has
finalized his 18-man roster for the upcoming Milk Cup in Northern
Ireland, including Dynamo midfielder Francisco Navas Cobo. One of the most popular youth national trips, the Milk Cup is
a prestigious tournament that will provide the U.S. with three
international games against China on July 26, Denmark on July 28, and an
opponent to be determined in a placement match on July 30.

roster includes nine professional players, including six who play
overseas. The three Major League Soccer representatives include Juan
Agudelo from New York Red Bulls, Fuad Ibrahim from Toronto FC, and
Navas Cobo from the Dynamo.

The 18-year-old came through the Dynamo Academy and earned a contract with the first team during preseason training in March 2010. He made his professional debut April 17 against Chivas USA and has made three competitive appearances for Houston this year, as well as two friendly appearances.

Three teams from
Portugal are represented by Gale Agbossoumonde (S.C. Braga), goalkeeper
Samir Badr (F.C. Porto ), and Greg Garza (G.D. Estoril Praia). Ernest
Nungaray and Adrian Rueles, who were part of Rongen’s most recent camp
in San Jose, play for Mexican sides Monarcas Morelia and Santos Laguna,
respectively. Rounding out the foreign contingent is Dinamo Zagreb’s
Alex Molano.

The team will participate in opening ceremonies
in Belfast before the opening games begin on July 26. Other
participating teams at this year’s Milk Cup include Mexico, Northern
Ireland and Japan.

Roster By Position:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Samir Badr (F.C. Porto; Fairfax, Va.), Zac MacMath (Maryland; St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Gale Agbossoumonde (S.C. Braga; Syracuse, N.Y.), Bryan De La Fuente
(Chivas USA; Bell, Calif.), Greg Garza (G.D. Estoril Praia; Grapevine,
Texas), Sacir Hot (Boston College; Fair Lawn, N.J.), Perry Kitchen
(Akron; Indianapolis, Ind.),
Zarek Valentin (Akron; Lancaster, Pa.), Ethan White (Maryland; Kensington, Md.)
Fuad Ibrahim (Toronto FC; Richfield, Minn.), Francisco Navas Cobo
(Houston Dynamo; Richmond, Texas), Alex Molano (NK Dinamo Zagreb;
Grapevine, Texas), Ernest Nungaray (Monarcas Morelia; National City,
Dillon Powers (Notre Dame; Plano, Texas), Conor Shanosky (D.C. United, Sterling, Va.)
Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls; Barnegat, N.Y.), Adrian Ruelas
(Santos Laguna; Fontana, Calif.), Omar Salgado (Unattached; El Paso,