Navas Cobo called up to U.S. U-20 team

18-year-old to represent United States in four-team tournament in peru


Photo Credit: 
New Wave

Houston Dynamo midfielder Francisco Navas Cobo has been named to the
United States U-20 national team’s roster for an upcoming quadrangular
tournament in Peru, U.S. Soccer announced today.

Navas Cobo, who was part of the
U.S. U-20 squad that won the prestigious Milk Cup in Northern Ireland in July, is one of
20 players, all with professional clubs, named to the roster. The tournament
runs September 1-12, so Navas Cobo is expected to miss Dynamo games on
September 5 (vs. San Jose) and September 11 (at Kansas City).

The 18-year-old became the second
player in Dynamo history to be signed directly from the Dynamo Academy
earlier this year and also became the first home-grown player in club history
to appear in a competitive match in April. He has made three appearances for
the Dynamo and four international appearances for the U.S. U-20 national team
this year.

In the tournament, to be held in Arequipa, Peru,
the United States will face Paraguay (Sept. 6), Colombia
(Sept. 8), and Peru
(Sept. 10). The championship and consolation games will take place on Sept. 12.

The Houston Dynamo are a Major
League Soccer club that has won two MLS Cup championships in its first four
seasons and represented the United
States in international competition in four
consecutive seasons. For more information, log on to or
call (713) 276-7500.

Full United States U-20 roster by position:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Samir Badr (F.C. Porto; Fairfax, Va.), Cody Cropper (Ipswich Town; Athens, Ga.)
Agbossoumonde (S.C. Braga; Syracuse, N.Y.), Anthony Brooks (Hertha BSC;
Berlin, Germany), Bryan De La Fuente (Chivas USA; Bell, Calif.),
Christian Flores (Club Tijuana; El Cajon, Calif.), Greg Garza (G.D.
Estoril Praia; Grapevine, Texas), Emilio Orozco (Tigres; Oxnard,
Calif.), Korey Veeder (Crystal Palace Baltimore; St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Garza (Tigres; Edinburg, Texas), Kevin Huezo (C.F. Pachuca; Santa Ana,
Calif.), Francisco Navas Cobo (Houston Dynamo; Richmond, Texas), Ernest
Nungaray (Monarcas Morelia; National City, Calif.), Moises Orozco
(Tigres; Oxnard, Calif.), Conor Shanosky (D.C. United; Sterling, Va.),
Cesar Zamora (Chivas USA; Sylmar, Calif.)
Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls; Barnegat, N.Y.), Jerome Kiesewetter
(Hertha BSC; Berlin, Germany), Adrian Ruelas (Santos Laguna; Fontana,
Calif.), Omar Salgado (Portland Timbers; El Paso, Texas)