Houston Dynamo announce 2012 regular season schedule

Dynamo open BBVA Compass Stadium May 12 vs. D.C. United

Major League Soccer announced the 2012 regular season schedule on Thursday, including the Houston Dynamo’s 34-game slate for its seventh season in Houston. The Dynamo will play 17 home regular season games at its brand new home, BBVA Compass Stadium.


The 2011 Eastern Conference champions will open their season on Sunday, March 11 against Chivas USA at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. That match will kick off at 6 p.m. CT and will be nationally televised on Galavisión.

The Dynamo will play their first seven games of the season on the road before opening BBVA Compass Stadium on May 12 against Eastern Conference foe D.C. United. That match will kick off at 3:30 p.m. and will be nationally broadcast on NBC Sports Network.


The Dynamo will be featured on national television 12 times in 2012, with six of those matches showcasing the Dynamo’s new downtown soccer-specific stadium. Those matches include a rematch of the 2011 MLS Cup final on May 26 against LA Galaxy (NBCSN), a June 16 match with intra-state rival FC Dallas (ESPN2), and an August 3 match against Thierry Henry, Rafael Márquez and the New York Red Bulls (NBCSN).

With the addition of Montreal Impact to MLS, the Dynamo will play an unbalanced schedule for the first time since 2009. Under the new competition format, Houston will play each Western Conference team once, seven Eastern Conference teams three times, and two Eastern Conference teams twice.

While single game tickets are not yet available, fans can purchase tickets to all games via Dynamo full and partial season ticket plans. Ticket packages can be purchased by calling (713) 276-GOAL or by clicking here.