Houston Dynamo announce 2014 preseason schedule

Houston to compete in Carolina Challenge Cup Feb. 22-Mar. 1

HOU_2013training_methodist

Photo Credit: 
Anthony Vasser/Houston Dynamo

The Houston Dynamo announced their 2014 preseason schedule today, with training sessions beginning on Monday, January 27. The schedule is tentative and subject to change.

During preseason, the Dynamo will train and play friendlies in Tucson, Ariz., from February 4-10. The Arizona trip will include games against the Portland Timbers, San Jose Earthquakes and Vancouver Whitecaps. All matches will be played at the Kino Sports Complex.

In addition to the friendlies in Arizona, the Dynamo will travel to Charleston, S.C., to participate in the Carolina Challenge Cup before returning to Houston to open the 2014 MLS regular season on Saturday, March 8 against the New England Revolution. The Dynamo have a 5-2-2 record all-time in the preseason tournament, having won the Cup in 2006 and 2007. Rounding out the Carolina Challenge Cup field are MLS sides D.C. United and Seattle Sounders and USL Pro and host club Charleston Battery.

The Dynamo will open preseason with a scrimmage against the Dynamo Academy, presented by Statoil, on Wednesday, Jan. 29. All home matches and Houston-based training sessions will take place at the Houston Sports Park (HSP).

The Dynamo’s preseason game schedule currently stands as follows (all times Central):

Wed, Jan. 29 (3 p.m.)

Scrimmage vs. Dynamo Academy

HSP

Sun, Feb. 2 (11 a.m.)

Scrimmage vs. Colorado Rapids

HSP

Wed, Feb. 5 (3 p.m.)

Scrimmage vs. Portland Timbers

Tucson, AZ

Sat, Feb. 8 (4 p.m.)

Scrimmage vs. San Jose Earthquakes

Tucson, AZ

Mon, Feb. 10 (11 a.m.)

Scrimmage vs. Vancouver Whitecaps

Tucson, AZ

Sat, Feb. 15 (10 a.m.)

Scrimmage vs. Houston Baptist University

HSP

Sat. Feb. 22 (4 p.m.)

Carolina Challenge Cup vs. D.C. United

Charleston, SC

Wed, Feb. 26 (4 p.m.)

Carolina Challenge Cup vs. Seattle Sounders

Charleston, SC

Sat, Mar. 1 (6:15 p.m.)

Carolina Challenge Cup vs. Charleston Battery

Charleston, SC

Full and up-to-date preseason schedule can be found by clicking here.