Bob Levey / Getty

SuperLiga 2010 dates and venues announced

Major League Soccer and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol (FMF) today unveiled the dates and venues for the 2010 edition of SuperLiga. The fourth installment of the tournament – which features top U.S. and Mexican soccer clubs and awards the winner with one of the biggest purses in the region – will begin Wednesday, July 14, just three days following the conclusion of this summer’s FIFA World Cup.

The first round of the 2010 edition will be staged in an eight-day span that will include doubleheader dates at Toyota Park in the Chicago area (July 17) and Robertson Stadium in Houston (July 18). Information for the semifinals and final to be played in August will be announced once teams qualify.

Competitive criteria determined which four teams would represent the United States in the tournament. Based on their 2009 regular season record, the top four MLS teams (who are not competing in the 2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League) qualified for SuperLiga 2010: Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Houston Dynamo, and New England Revolution. The four invited Mexican clubs participating in this edition of SuperLiga will be known later this spring, following the conclusion of the current tournament.

In its history, SuperLiga has crowned two Mexican champions (Pachuca, 2007 and Tigres, 2009) and one U.S. champion (New England Revolution, 2008). All three championship games have been determined by penalty kicks. During the inaugural edition of SuperLiga, Pachuca defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. on Aug. 30, 2007. In 2008, the all-MLS final saw the Revolution defeat the Houston Dynamo at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. In 2009, Tigres UANL of Mexico defeated the Chicago Fire in front of a sell-out crowd at Toyota Park.

For ticket information, fans are encouraged to contact the local MLS club. The entire tournament will once again be broadcast live by TeleFutura in the United States.

Groups and schedule for SuperLiga 2010 will be announced in the spring.

SuperLiga 2010 Schedule*
* Subject to change

Wednesday, July 14
Game 1: Venue TBD – Boston / Foxborough, MA
Game 2: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL

Thursday, July 15
Game 3: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 4: The Home Depot Center – Carson, CA

Saturday, July 17
Game 5: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL
Game 6: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL

Sunday, July 18
Game 7: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 8: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX

Tuesday, July 20
Game 9: Venue TBD – Boston / Foxborough, MA
Game 10: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL

Wednesday, July 21
Game 11: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 12: The Home Depot Center – Carson, CA

About Major League Soccer:
Headquartered in New York City, Major League Soccer is the top-flight professional soccer league in the United States and Canada. MLS features many stars from the U.S., Canada, and around the world. MLS kicks off its 15th season on March 25, 2010. MLS features 16 clubs each playing 30 regular season matches in 2010. Those teams include Chicago Fire; Colorado Rapids; Chivas USA; Columbus Crew; D.C. United; FC Dallas; Houston Dynamo; Kansas City Wizards; Los Angeles Galaxy; New York Red Bulls; New England Revolution; 2009 MLS Cup Champion Real Salt Lake; San Jose Earthquakes; Seattle Sounders FC; Toronto FC; and, in their inaugural season, Philadelphia Union. Expansion teams in Vancouver and Portland will debut in 2011. For more information about MLS, log on to the League’s official website at

About Mexican Federation’s First Division:
The Mexican First Division, the top flight professional league of the Federacion Mexicana de Futbol (FMF), features a total of 18 teams who vie for the championship decided by a playoff system known as “la Liguilla”, is home to some of Latin America’s top players and teams that are considered some of the best in this hemisphere. Mexican clubs have shown their quality not just within their own country but also the Americas’ most prestigious competitions. For more information, visit the Federation’s official site: