Dynamo announce 2011 preseason schedule

HOUSTON, TX (Thursday, January 20, 2011) -- The Houston Dynamo announced their schedule for the 2011 preseason today, with training sessions beginning on Monday, January 24. The schedule is tentative and subject to change, with updates made regularly at HoustonDynamo.com/preseason-schedule

During the preseason, the Dynamo will play a friendly in Corpus Christi (February 12) and competitive tournaments in Orlando (February 24-26) and a location to be announced (March 11-13). Houston will also train in Phoenix, Ariz., and play three scrimmages there against MLS competition, in addition to hosting two scrimmages against college foes and one against an MLS foe in the Houston area.

One of those scrimmages will be the Dynamo’s annual Meet the Team Day, to be held March 5 against SMU. Only Dynamo season ticket holders and their guests will be admitted to the exclusive event, which will include a chance to meet players following the game.

The Dynamo’s preseason game schedule currently stands as follows:

Sat, Feb. 5       Scrimmage vs. Houston Baptist University 11 a.m. Carl Lewis

Sat, Feb. 12     South Texas Shootout vs. FC Dallas 2 p.m. Corpus Christi

Tues, Feb. 15   Scrimmage vs. Sporting Kansas City TBA Phoenix AZ

Thur, Feb. 17   Scrimmage vs. Columbus Crew TBA Phoenix AZ

Sat, Feb. 19     Scrimmage vs. Portland Timbers TBA Phoenix AZ

Tues, Feb. 22   Scrimmage vs. Seattle Sounders TBA Orlando FL

Thur, Feb. 24   Disney Pro Soccer Classic Semifinals TBA Orlando FL

Sat, Feb. 26     Disney Pro Soccer Classic TBD Orlando FL

Sat, March 5    Meet the Team Day Scrimmage vs. SMU 11 a.m. Carl Lewis

Tues, March 8  Scrimmage vs. Real Salt Lake 11 a.m. Carl Lewis

Fri, March 11   Tournament vs. Columbus Crew TBA TBA

Sun, March 13 Tournament vs. New England Revolution TBA TBA 

The Dynamo’s MLS regular season opener is set for Saturday, March 19, against the Philadelphia Union at Robertson Stadium. Tickets are available at HoustonDynamo.com.