Houston Dynamo midfielder Boniek García named to Honduras roster for World Cup preparatory camp

Houston Dynamo midfielder Boniek García was named to the Honduras national team’s 2014 FIFA World Cup preparatory camp by head coach Luis Fernando Suarez on Monday. 

García is expected to join the national team camp by May 20. The initial roster includes 23 players, with up to seven more players eligible to join the camp. García was also part of the Honduras team at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa and will participate in his second World Cup if he makes the final 23-man roster, which must be submitted by June 2. 

García, 29, played in each of Honduras’ 16 qualifying matches for the 2014 FIFA World Cup, scoring one goal. The Tegucigalpa native has earned 92 caps, tied for the fifth-most in Honduras national team history. The midfielder has 11 goals and 14 assists in 59 career appearances with the Dynamo, including playoffs. García was the Dynamo Players’ Player of the Year in 2012.

Honduras will play three friendlies in the U.S. before departing for Brazil, beginning with a matchup against Turkey on May 29 at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Next, Los Catrachos face Israel on June 1 at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston before completing their World Cup preparations against England on June 7 in Miami.

Honduras is part of Group E at the 2014 World Cup, along with Switzerland, Ecuador and France. Los Catrachos open their World Cup group stage against France on June 15 in Porto Alegre.

Honduras national team 23-man pre-World Cup camp roster

GOALKEEPERS: Noel Valladares (Olimpia), Donis Escober (Olimpia), Luis Lopez (Real España).

DEFENDERS: Arnold Peralta, Rangers (Escocia), Maynor Figueroa, Hull City (Inglaterra), Víctor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes), Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic), Osman Chavez (Qingdao Jonoon), Juan Carlos García (Wigan), Bryan Beckeles (Olimpia), Juan Pablo Montes (Motagua)

MIDFIELDERS: Wilson Palacios (Stoke City), Jorge Claros (Motagua), Luis Garrido (Olimpia), Roger Espinoza (Wigan), Boniek García (Houston Dynamo), Andy Nájar (Anderlecht), Marvin Chavez (Colorado Rapids), Mario Martínez (Real España)

FORWARDS: Carlo Costly (Real Espana), Jerry Bengtson (New England Revolution), Jerry Palacios (Alajuelense), Rony Martínez (Real Sociedad)