Wade Barrett on ballot for National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2013

Last week, U.S. Soccer announced the list of nominees for the National Soccer Hall of Fame class of 2013. The list includes a compilation of some of the most talented players to play the game including: Taylor Twellman, Roy Lassiter, Ben Olsen and Chris Henderson among others.

But for Dynamo fans, one name stands out above the rest.

Making his first appearance on the National Soccer Hall of Fame player ballot is Wade Barrett. The former Dynamo defender and current Dynamo assistant coach is one of the most decorated players to wear the orange, not to mention one of the most fit people we know.

An original member of the Dynamo, Barrett played two stints with the San Jose Earthquakes (1998-2002 and 2005), winning the 2001 MLS Cup championship, before moving with the club to Houston prior to the 2006 season. The Virginia Beach native captained the Dynamo from 2006-2009 and led the club to two MLS Cup titles (2006 and 2007) and the 2009 Western Conference championship game. Barrett finished his career with 140 appearances in all competitions including 99 in MLS play.

Prior to the 2010 season, Barrett retired from playing to join Dominic Kinnear's coaching staff. With Barrett on the staff, the Dynamo have advanced to the past two MLS Cup finals. Barrett also co-managed (along with Steve Ralston) the Dynamo Reserves to the 2012 Reserve League Central/Mountain division championship.

The hall of fame voting pool includes all past and present full men's and women's national team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach in a first division league, MLS and NWSL management representatives, MLS Commissioner, NWSL Executive Director, U.S. Soccer CEO/Secretary General, U.S. Soccer President, designated media members, and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can list up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be dropped from the Player ballot.

2013 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot
Chris Armas
Wade Barrett *
Mauricio Cienfuegos^
Raul Diaz Arce
Marco Etcheverry
Lorrie Fair
Robin Fraser
Chris Henderson
Angela Hucles *
Jason Kreis
Roy Lassiter^
Shannon MacMillan
Joe-Max Moore
Victor Nogueira
John O'Brien
Ben Olsen *
Cindy Parlow
Ante Razov
Tiffany Roberts
Tony Sanneh *
Taylor Twellman *
Tisha Venturini-Hoch^

* First year of eligibility ^ Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2014