Dynamo 1, FC Dallas 0

Houston got the better of Dallas once again to claim El Capitán, symbolic of the top MLS team in Texas, by clinching the regular season series with a 2-0-1 lead. Defender Craig Waibel scored the game’s only goal with a 37th-minute header from a Dwayne De Rosario corner kick, and the Dynamo posted their first shutout since June 24 for the win.

FC Dallas (12-6-3) vs. Houston Dynamo (9-5-8)
August 12, 2006 -- Robertson Stadium, Houston TX

Scoring Summary:
HOU -- Craig Waibel 2 (Dwayne De Rosario 5) 37 

FC Dallas -- Dario Sala, Chris Gbandi (Abe Thompson 84), Drew Moor, Bobby Rhine, Greg Vanney, Richard Mulrooney, Ronnie O'Brien, Marcelo Saragosa (Arturo Alvarez 83), Simo Valakri (Carlos Ruiz 64), Kenny Cooper, Ramon Nunez.
Substitutes Not Used: Ray Burse, Clarence Goodson, Aaron Pitchkolan, David Wagenfuhr.

Houston Dynamo -- Pat Onstad, Wade Barrett, Ryan Cochrane, Eddie Robinson, Craig Waibel, Ricardo Clark, Brad Davis (Stuart Holden 89), Dwayne De Rosario, Brian Mullan, Brian Ching (Adrian Serioux 84), Alejandro Moreno.
Substitutes Not Used: Zach Wells, Ronald Cerritos, Kevin Goldthwaite, Kelly Gray, Chris Wondolowski.

Misconduct Summary:
FCD -- Bobby Rhine (caution; Tackle from Behind) 40
FCD -- Ronnie O'Brien (caution; Dissent) 45
HOU -- Eddie Robinson (caution; Tackle from Behind) 58
HOU -- Ryan Cochrane (caution; Dissent) 77    

Referee: Abbey Okulaja
Referee's Assistants: Chris Strickland; Paul Scott
4th official: Oscar Ortiz
Attendance: 10,964
Weather: Partly Cloudy-and-93 degrees

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial