Getty Images

Dynamo 0, D.C. United 1


The Dynamo’s winless skid to start the season was extended to six games on a fluke goal by Luciano Emilio, and Brad Davis hit the crossbar as Houston came close to tying the match.


The Houston Dynamo lost to D.C. United in a 1-0 match at RFK Stadium Saturday night; it was D.C. United's first win against the Dynamo since May 26, 2007.

Luciano Emilio scored the game's only goal in the 47th minute when he ran onto a long ball that was not cleared and lobbed Dynamo goalkeeper Pat Onstad.

The Dynamo nearly tied the game multiple times in the closing minutes, with Brad Davis hitting the crossbar in the 85th minute and Stuart Holden narrowly missing a low blast minutes later. The Dynamo held a 13-7 shot advantage.

Both teams played a 3-5-2 formation, with second-year man Geoff Cameron starting at right back for the Dynamo at the fourth different position of his short career (right midfield, center back, center midfield).

Brian Ching started tonight's match after playing for the U.S. national team last week against El Salvador and Trinidad & Tobago. He was removed in the 67th minute.

The Dynamo drop to 0-2-1 after consecutive road losses. Houston opened last season 0-2-4 before eventually finishing with the second best overall record in Major League Soccer.

Houston forward Kei Kamara made his 2009 debut when he came on as a halftime sub for Chris Wondolowski.

Tonight was Stuart Holden's 65th career MLS appearance, Bobby Boswell's and Brian Ching's 110th career MLS starts, Pat Onstad's 170th MLS start, and Brian Mullan's 190th career MLS start.

Houston Dynamo (0-2-1) vs. D.C. United (1-0-2)
April 04, 2009 -- RFK Stadium, Washington DC

Scoring Summary:
DC -- Luciano Emilio 2 (Bryan Namoff 1) 47

Houston Dynamo -- Pat Onstad, Geoff Cameron, Bobby Boswell, Wade Barrett (Julius James 72), Brian Mullan, Ricardo Clark, Richard Mulrooney, Stuart Holden, Brad Davis, Brian Ching (Corey Ashe 67), Chris Wondolowski (Kei Kamara 46).
Substitutes Not Used: Tally Hall, Mike Chabala, John Michael Hayden, Craig Waibel.

D.C. United -- Louis Crayton, Bryan Namoff, Dejan Jakovic, Marc Burch, Chris Pontius, Clyde Simms, Ben Olsen (Greg Janicki 79), Christian Gomez (Fred 57), Rodney Wallace, Luciano Emilio, Ange N'Silu (Jaime Moreno 65).
Substitutes Not Used: Josh Wicks, Brandon Barklage, Boyzzz Khumalo.

Misconduct Summary:
HOU -- Wade Barrett (caution; Reckless Foul) 49
DC -- Jaime Moreno (ejection; Violent Conduct) 71
HOU -- Julius James (caution; Tactical Foul) 86

Referee: Baldomero Toledo
Referee's Assistants: Nate Clement; James Conlee
4th official: Mark Kadlecik
Attendance: 12,594
Weather: Clear-and-61-degrees

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial