Getty Images

Dynamo 2, New England Revolution 0


The Dynamo made it two in a row with their first ever win in Foxborough. Stuart Holden scored with a long-range shot that slipped through Matt Reis, and Brian Ching sewed the game up with a header. The game also marked defender Andrew Hainault’s debut when he came on as a substitute.


The Houston Dynamo won their second consecutive game and evened their record at 2-2-2 with a 2-0 win over the New England Revolution Sunday afternoon, the Dynamo's first regular season win against the Revolution in seven tries.

Stuart Holden gave Houston the lead in the 22nd minute with a long-range shot that slipped underneath New England goalkeeper Matt Reis.

Brian Ching doubled Houston's lead in the 58th minute with the 60th goal of his MLS career off a corner kicked served by Brad Davis. The assist was Davis' second of the MLS season and third in all competitions.

Holden's goal was the 10th MLS tally of his career and the Dynamo’s first goal against the New England Revolution in the MLS regular season since July 22, 2007.

Pat Onstad and the Dynamo recorded their third consecutive shutout, running their shutout streak to 313 minutes, the second-longest streak in MLS this season. It was Onstad’s 75th career MLS win and his 53rd career MLS shutout.

Andrew Hainault and Ade Akinbiyi both made their MLS debuts as substitutes, with Hainault coming on for an injured Wade Barrett in the 42nd minute and Akinbiyi replacing Brian Ching in the 87th minute.

The win was the Dynamo's first road win since October 4, 2008, when they beat the Colorado Rapids 3-1.

Richard Mulrooney made the 240th start of his MLS career, Ricardo Clark made his 155th career MLS start, and Wade Barrett and Brian Ching made career MLS appearances No. 235 and No. 135, respectively.

Houston Dynamo (2-2-2) vs. New England Revolution (2-2-2)
May 03, 2009 -- Gillette Stadium, Foxborough MA

Scoring Summary:
HOU -- Stuart Holden 1 (unassisted) 22
HOU -- Brian Ching 3 (Brad Davis 2) 58

Houston Dynamo -- Pat Onstad, Richard Mulrooney, Bobby Boswell, Geoff Cameron, Wade Barrett (Andrew Hainault 42), Brian Mullan, Ricardo Clark, Stuart Holden, Brad Davis (Corey Ashe 87), Brian Ching (Ade Akinbiyi 87), Kei Kamara.
Substitutes Not Used: Tally Hall, Julius James, Craig Waibel, Chris Wondolowski.

New England Revolution -- Matt Reis, Jay Heaps, Darrius Barnes, Amaechi Igwe, Sainey Nyassi, Shalrie Joseph, Jeff Larentowicz, Wells Thompson, Michael Videira (Pat Phelan 77), Kheli Dube (Stephane Assengue 65), Kenny Mansally.
Substitutes Not Used: Brad Knighton, Emmanuel Osei, Chris Tierney, Taylor Twellman, Rob Valentino.

Misconduct Summary:
HOU -- Ricardo Clark (caution; Reckless Foul) 44
NE -- Kenny Mansally (caution; Reckless Foul) 51
HOU -- Brian Mullan (caution; Reckless Foul) 63

Referee: Terry Vaughn
Referee's Assistants: Joe Fletcher; Claudio Badea
4th official: Jorge Gonzalez
Attendance: 9,112
Weather: Cloudy-and-64-degrees

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial