Thomas B. Shea / Houston Dynamo

Dynamo to face Pachuca in SuperLiga 2010

The Houston Dynamo have been drawn against Mexican rival Pachuca in the 2010 edition of SuperLiga, Major League Soccer and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol announced today. The Dynamo will also host Mexican club Puebla and MLS rival Chivas USA in Group A, with four of the six games being played at Robertson Stadium July 15-21.

>>See Dynamo schedule

The fourth installment of the tournament – which features top U.S. and Mexican soccer clubs and awards the winner with one of the biggest purses in the region – will begin Wednesday, July 14, just three days following the conclusion of this summer’s FIFA World Cup.

The Dynamo have participated in SuperLiga twice before, reaching the semifinals in 2007 and the final in 2008, losing in dramatic shootouts on both occasions.

The Dynamo will host Pachuca at Robertson Stadium on Thursday, July 15, at 7 p.m. (>>Buy Tickets Now) The teams have met six times over the past three seasons, developing the most competitive United States-Mexico rivalry at the club level. Pachuca leads the series 3-2-1, including two wins in the 2009-10 CONCACAF Champions League last fall, but the Dynamo won their last SuperLiga meeting, a 2-0 decision in the 2008 semifinals.

Houston will host a doubleheader on Sunday, July 18 (>>Buy Tickets Now), with the Dynamo facing Western Conference rival Chivas USA at 7 p.m. and Pachuca taking on Puebla at 9:30 p.m. This doubleheader is the only Dynamo home game not included in Dynamo season ticket packages, but season ticket holders can contact their customer service representatives for ticket deals.

Group A play will conclude on Wednesday, July 21, with the Dynamo hosting Puebla at 7 p.m. (>>Buy Tickets Now) The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals, to be held in August at a date and time to be announced. Group B teams include MLS clubs Chicago Fire and New England Revolution and Mexican clubs Morelia and Pumas.

Tickets are on sale at HoustonDynamo.com and through Ticketmaster outlets. For a full SuperLiga schedule, see below.

The Houston Dynamo are a Major League Soccer club that has won two MLS Cup championships in its first four seasons and represented the United States in four consecutive regional championships. For more information, log on to www.HoustonDynamo.com or call (713) 276-7500.

The SuperLiga field of teams is divided into two groups, each with two representatives from the respective leagues:

Group A                                        Group B

Chivas USA (USA)                        Chicago Fire (USA)
Houston Dynamo (USA)                Monarcas Morelia (MEX)
Pachuca (MEX)                             New England Revolution (USA)
Puebla F.C. (MEX)                        Pumas UNAM (MEX)

SuperLiga 2010 Schedule*
(All Times Central) / * Subject to change

Wednesday, July 14
New England Revolution vs. Pumas UNAM (Gillette Stadium – Foxborough, MA) - 7:00 p.m.
Chicago Fire vs. Monarcas Morelia (Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL) - 8:30 p.m.

Thursday, July 15
Houston Dynamo vs. Pachuca (Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX) - 7:00 p.m.
Chivas USA vs. Puebla (The Home Depot Center – Carson, CA) - 9:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 17
Chicago Fire vs. New England Revolution (Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL) - 6:00 p.m.
Monarcas Morelia vs. Pumas UNAM (Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL.) - 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 18
Houston Dynamo vs. Chivas USA (Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX) - 7:00 p.m.
Pachuca vs. Puebla (Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX) - 9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 20
New England Revolution vs. Monarcas Morelia (Gillette Stadium – Foxborough, MA) - 7:00 p.m.
Chicago Fire vs. Pumas UNAM (Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL) - 8:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 21
Houston Dynamo vs. Puebla (Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX) - 7:00 p.m.
Chivas USA vs. Pachuca (The Home Depot Center – Carson, CA) - 9:30 p.m.