Courtesy Nigel Brooks

Did You Know? about the U.S. Open Cup

With the Dynamo entering the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup in the third round and hosting Miami FC Tuesday night at 7:30 p.m., HoustonDynamo.com has prepared some Open Cup trivia.

Did You Know? - Houston in the Open Cup

The Dynamo are one of four MLS teams to qualify for each of the five Open Cup tournaments since moving to Houston. The Dynamo are joined by the Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, and D.C. United.

Houston has been hit-or-miss in Open Cup play, reaching the semifinals in 2006 and 2009 but falling in its first match in both 2007 and 2008.

Of the Dynamo's last five Open Cup matches, three have gone to overtime, with Houston losing in overtime in 2007, in a shootout in 2008, and in overtime in 2009. The Dynamo's last three Open Cup wins have all been by shutout (Charleston 2009, Austin 2009, Dallas 2006).

Houston's all-time leading scorer in Open Cup play remains former forward Alejandro Moreno, who scored three goals in three games in 2006. Players with two goals include Geoff Cameron, Dominic Oduro, and Eddie Robinson. Of the Dynamo's eight games, Brian Mullan has played in a team-high six.

Pat Onstad has not played in an Open Cup game since 2006, when he played in two games. In goal for Houston, Zach Wells played in the opening game in 2006 and 2007, Tony Caig suffered the shootout defeat in 2008, and Tally Hall posted two shutouts and a club-record-tying 10 saves in a single game in the 2009 run.

Did You Know? - Open Cup

The final tournament consists of 32 non-MLS teams, which include nine qualifiers from amateur playoffs and eight PDL teams. The professional teams include the nine American teams from the USSF Division II league and all six teams from the United Soccer Leagues 2nd Division. Eight qualifying MLS teams (six based on previous year's record, two based on qualifying matches) enter in the third round.

Professional teams are limited to five foreign players on their 18-player game-day roster. Amateur teams have no foreign player limits.

Ties are broken by 30 minutes of extra time (not sudden death), followed by a shootout.

The Open Cup champion receives a bid to the qualifying round of the following year's CONCACAF Champions League.

In each of the last three tournaments, at least one minor-league team has reached the semifinals (2007-Carolina, Seattle; 2008-Charleston, Seattle; 2009-Rochester).

Since 2007, when MLS was first limited to eight teams in the tournament, MLS teams are 12-12 in advancing from third-round games. However, they are 6-2 in advancing when playing at home.

Since MLS teams entered the competition in 1996, only one non-MLS team has won the title: the 1999 Rochester Raging Rhinos, with Pat Onstad in goal.