Wilf Thorne/Houston Dynamo

Ibeagha named to Academy All-Central team

Dynamo Academy defender Sebastien Ibeagha (Fort Bend Hightower) was named to the United States Soccer Federation Development Academy league’s all-Central Conference Starting XI for the 2009-10 season, it was announced last weekend.

Ibeagha began the year as a midfielder but moved to center back after injuries and absences left Houston depleted at the back. He helped the Dynamo reach the USSF playoffs in their first year in the league, coming up one game short of reaching the league’s Finals week.

The 2009 Dynamo Academy Player of the Year, Ibeagha is set to continue his soccer career at Duke University in the fall while remaining on the Dynamo’s home-grown player list. He trained with the Dynamo first team last summer and even played in a scrimmage. He captained the Dynamo Academy on its 2009 European tour and was invited to spend a day training with Scottish Premier League club Dundee United.

In league play in 2009-10, Ibeagha started a team-high 27 games out of the Dynamo’s 29 games and scored six goals, several on headers from set pieces.

“This is a well-deserved honor,” Dynamo Director of Youth Development James Clarkson said. “He is an outstanding youth player with a great future ahead. I hope he continues his development this year at Duke, and hopefully he can make the step to the next level with the Dynamo one day.”

The Dynamo Academy returns to competitive action this weekend in the SUM U-17 Cup at Centennial Park in Friendswood, facing Chivas USA, the New England Revolution, and Toronto FC in Group C of the tournament.

U-17/18 Central Conference Starting XI
GOALKEEPERS: Eric Osswald (Crew Soccer Academy)
DEFENDERS: Alex Sauciuc (Sockers FC), Sebastian Ibeagha (Houston Dynamo), Moises Hernandez (FC Dallas)
MIDFIELDERS: Nikita Kotlov (Indiana United Academy), Zach Barnes (Dallas Texans), Victor Ulloa (FC Dallas), AJ Corrado (Indiana United Academy), Harrison Shipp (Chicago Fire)
FORWARDS: Soony Saad (Derby County Wolves), Ruben Luna (FC Dallas)