Scott Brown / FC Dallas

Reserves lose at Dallas on late goals

The Houston Dynamo Reserves dominated play but gave up two late goals to fall 2-0 to the FC Dallas Reserves Sunday morning at Pizza Hut Park.

Houston outshot Dallas 14-6 for the match, including 4-2 in shots on goal, but could not get on the scoreboard. Dallas struck twice late in the match, with Ruben Luna taking advantage of defensive miscommunication in the 74th minute to put Dallas up 1-0. With the Dynamo pushing forward, Dallas earned a corner kick, and Bryan Leyva’s back-post delivery deflected in off of Houston’s Will Bruin.

Houston had two good early chances, with Jason Garey firing high in the fifth minute with Dallas goalkeeper Chris Seitz caught out of position, and Will Bruin unleashing a shot just over the crossbar in the 13th minute.

In the second half, the Dynamo kept Dallas goalkeeper Josh Lambo very busy. Jason Garey forced a good save in the 46th minute with a left-footed shot, but the Dynamo’s best chance came in the 69th minute. Midfielder Josue Soto chipped a pass through for Will Bruin, but his shot was saved by a charging Lambo. Dallas goalkeepers totaled four saves on the day.

Two Dynamo Academy players saw action in Sunday’s game: Christian Gonzalez (Spring Woods) played 90 minutes at left back, and Bradley Bourgeois (Cy-Fair) played 22 minutes in midfield.

The Dynamo Reserves return to action on Saturday, October 1, when they host the Chicago Fire following the first-team game at Robertson Stadium.


Houston Dynamo (4-4-0) vs. FC Dallas (4-3-0)
September 25, 2011 -- Pizza Hut Park, Frisco, TX
MLS Reserve League -- Central/Mountain Division

Scoring Summary:
FCD -- Ruben Luna 4 (unassisted) 74
FCD -- Own goal (Will Bruin) 85

Houston Dynamo -- Tyler Deric, Hunter Freeman, Jermaine Taylor, Eddie Robinson, Christian Gonzalez, Josue Soto, Je-Vaughn Watson (Francisco Navas Cobo 46), Jason Garey, Will Bruin, Cam Weaver, Colin Clark (Bradley Bourgeois 68).
Substitutes Not Used: Fernando Piña, Alan Arellano, Calen Carr, Danny Cruz, Alex Dixon.

FC Dallas -- Chris Seitz (Josh Lambo 46), Jeremy Hall (Michael Ambrose 68), David Rodriguez, Jack Stewart (Mark Ashby 46), Moises Hernandez, Andrew Wiedeman (Jonathan Top 42), Bobby Warshaw (Jia Jie Zhuang 46), Victor Ulloa, Bryan Leyva, Maykel Galindo, Ruben Luna.
Substitutes Not Used: Richard Sanchez, Daniel Garcia

Misconduct Summary:
HOU -- Eddie Robinson (caution; Reckless Foul) 72

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial