Dynamo announce 2011 team awards

The Houston Dynamo announced their 2011 team awards on Tuesday night at Dynamo Celebration 2011: A Night to Remember, a Dynamo Charities event.

With players, coaches, front office, fans, and sponsors in attendance, the Dynamo honored many of their award winners and announced several others, ranging from Dynamo Academy players to first team regulars to Dynamo Girls. Team awards were decided by media balloting. A portion of proceeds from the event will benefit Dynamo Charities.

Midfielder Brad Davis won his third consecutive team Most Valuable Player award and his first MLS W.O.R.K.S. Dynamo Humanitarian of the Year award. Davis set a career high and led Major League Soccer in 2011 with 16 regular-season assists, adding two more in the playoffs, before being sidelined with a quad injury. He is a finalist for league MVP and was also named a finalist for the league’s MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year honor.

Head coach Dominic Kinnear was honored for earning his 100th career regular-season win during the season. President Chris Canetti presented Kinnear with framed mementos from the October 23 game, including tickets and the Dynamo’s official lineup sheet.

The full list of Dynamo Awards winners:

Newcomer of the Year: Adam Moffat
Goal of the Year: Adam Moffat, August 14 vs. Portland Timbers
Dynamo Academy Player of the Year: Christian Gonzalez
Dynamo Academy Players’ Player of the Year: Bradley Bourgeois
Game of the Year: August 20, Dynamo 3, Real Salt Lake 2
Defender of the Year: Andre Hainault
Fan of the Year: Nigel Brooks
Save of the Year: Tally Hall, March 25 at Seattle
Team Spirit Award: Blanca Guerrero (Dynamo Girls)
MLS W.O.R.K.S. Dynamo Humanitarian of the Year: Brad Davis
Ironman of the Year: Tally Hall (most MLS minutes played)
Young Player of the Year: Will Bruin (U-23)
Budweiser Golden Boot: Geoff Cameron (most MLS goals)
Forever Orange Award: Tony Nolte (outstanding outside contributor)
Most Valuable Player: Brad Davis

Currently on a five-game win streak and nine-game unbeaten streak, the Eastern Conference champion Dynamo will play in their third MLS Cup final in six years on November 20, taking on the LA Galaxy.