Getty Images

Geoff Cameron named to travel squad for U.S. men’s national team five-game series

Houston Dynamo center back Geoff Cameron has been named to the 23-man travel roster that will compete in the upcoming U.S. men’s national team matches that includes three friendlies and the start of 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifying.

“We have said from the beginning that these games are all about results, and we have chosen the 23 players who are in the best form right now and ready to get the job done,” U.S. men’s national team head coach Jürgen Klinsmann said. “These guys have put in a tremendous amount of hard work in the past ten days, and they are hungry to get started with the matches.”

Cameron joined the team on Sunday, following the Dynamo’s 2-2 draw at the New England Revolution. He will remain with the USMNT through all five matches and return ahead of the Dynamo’s June 16 match vs. FC Dallas, presented by Novo Nordisk (4 p.m. CT, ESPN2, BUY TICKETS).

The USMNT will kick off its five game series with a match against Scotland in Jacksonville, Fla. on May 26 at EverBank Field (7 p.m. CT, NBC Sports Network, Galavision) before traveling to Landover, Md. to take on five-time World Cup champions Brazil on May 30 at FedExField (7 p.m. CT, ESPN2, TeleFutura). The squad will then head north for a match against Dynamo defender André Hainault and the Canadian national team at BMO Field in Toronto on June 3 (6 p.m. CT, NBC Sports Network, Univision).

The five-game swing concludes with a pair of matches to start World Cup qualifying. On June 8, the national team hosts Antigua & Barbuda at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla. (6 p.m. CT, ESPN, Galavision). They will then play their first road game of the cycle against Guatemala (June 12, 9 p.m. CT) before returning back home.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Bocanegra (Rangers), Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Oguchi Onyewu (Sporting Lisbon), Michael Parkhurst (Nordsjaelland)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Chievo Verona), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Jose Torres (Pachuca)
FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Terrence Boyd (Borussia Dortmund), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Herculez Gomez (Santos), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)