Match Preview: Dynamo vs. New England Revolution

Houston Dynamo vs. New England Revolution
Saturday, September 29, 7:30 p.m. CT
BBVA Compass Stadium
Revs lead 6-2-5

KPRC Local 2 - 7 p.m.

SportsTalk 790 - 7 p.m.
La Ranchera 850 -7 p.m.

The Houston Dynamo kick off a crucial three-game homestand when they play host to the New England Revolution on Saturday evening at BBVA Compass Stadium. The Dynamo are grimly hanging on to fifth place in the Eastern Conference and the final playoff spot following a 3-1 loss at Philadelphia last weekend, still riding the second-longest home unbeaten streak in MLS history. The Revolution hit the road coming off a dramatic, last-gasp 1-1 draw with regional rival New York.

REFEREE: Drew Fischer. SAR (bench): George Gansner-- JAR (opposite): Jonathan Johnson-- 4th: Baldomero Toledo; MLS Career: 5 games-- FC/gm: 29.4-- Y/gm: 2.2-- R: 0-- pens: 0


  • HOUSTON DYNAMO -- QUESTIONABLE: DF Nathan Sturgis (R ankle sprain)-- MF Giles Barnes (R quad strain)-- PROBABLE: DF Corey Ashe (L hamstring strain) ;
  • NEW ENGLAND REVOLUTION -- OUT: DF Flo Lechner (R knee MCL sprain)-- MF Lee Nguyen (R shoulder surgery)-- DF Tyler Polak (R foot sprain)-- FW Saer Sene (L knee ACL surgery)-- DF Chris Tierney (L knee sprain / L hamstring strain)-- DOUBTFUL: MF Clyde Simms (R calf tightness)




  • SUSPENDED AFTER TWO YELLOW CARDS: HOU: Corey Ashe, Bobby Boswell, Calen Carr, Brad Davis, Macoumba Kandji ; NE: Kevin Alston, Darrius Barnes, Benny Feilhaber, Lee Nguyen, Chris Tierney, A.J. Soares


ALL-TIME (13 meetings): Dynamo 2 wins, 12 goals ; Revolution 6 wins, 18 goals ; Ties 5

  • AT HOUSTON (6 meetings): Dynamo 1 win, 3 goals ; Revolution 4 wins, 7 goals ; Ties 1The teams are meeting for the second time this year. Luiz Camargo's goal in the 87th minute overcame a brace from New England's Saer Sene to leave the teams in a 2-2 draw, May 19 in New England.
  • The Dynamo's 1-0 win last year in their final meeting at Robertson Stadium was their first-ever home win vs. New England. The Revs had won on four consecutive trips to Houston.
  • The teams have played for three cups. They met in back-to-back MLS Cup Finals in 2006 and 2007, the Dynamo winning on both occasions (on penalty kicks in MLS Cup 2006-- 2-1 in MLS Cup 2007). They also met in the 2008 SuperLiga final (won by New England on penalties).
  • Coaches record: Jay Heaps vs. HOU: P1 W0 L0 T1 ; Dominic Kinnear vs. NE: P13 W2 L6 T5


5/19: NE 2, HOU 2 (Sene 26, 57 -- Bruin 32-- Camargo 87)

  • The Revolution took the lead on 25 minutes. Referee Baldomero Toledo pointed to the spot after Brad Davis clattered into Saer SËne in the area, and SËne took the ball and tucked home his fifth goal of the season.
  • The Dynamo were level six minutes later as Davis served up his first assist of the season, swinging a free kick that Will Bruin nodded home for his fifth goal of the season before Matt Reis could clear it.
  • The Revs struck against the run of play for a second time to grasp the lead. Sene robbed defender Geoff Cameron of possession in the middle third and surged down the left into the Dynamo penalty area, capping off the one-man move by thumping home his second of the night past goalkeeper Tally Hall at the near post.
  • Yet the Dynamo came back to secure a draw with three minutes remaining. Brian Ching and Luiz Camargo played a quick one-two on the edge of the Revolution penalty area with the forward clipping the ball over the New England back four into Camargo's path on the left side of the penalty area, and the Brazilian midfielder kept his composure and polished off the move with his first MLS goal.
  • NEW ENGLAND REVOLUTION (4-3-1-2): Matt Reis - Kevin Alston, A.J. Soares, Stephen McCarthy, Chris Tierney - Lee Nguyen, Shalrie Joseph, Benny Feilhaber (Fernando Cardenas 77)- Ryan Guy - Blake Brettschneider, Saer Sene (Diego Fagundez 74).
  • HOUSTON DYNAMO (4-4-2): Tally Hall - Jermaine Taylor, Geoff Cameron, Bobby Boswell, Corey Ashe - Calen Carr (Macoumba Kandji 76), Adam Moffat, Je-Vaughn Watson (Luiz Camargo 66), Brad Davis (Colin Clark 70) - Will Bruin, Brian Ching.