Anthony Vasser/Houston Dynamo

Dynamo overpower Academy in final scrimmage before Charleston tournament

In their final scrimmage before next week’s Carolina Challenge Cup in Charleston, the Houston Dynamo defeated the Dynamo Academy U-18s, presented by Statoil, 11-0 on Tuesday afternoon at the Houston Amateur Sports Park. Dynamo forward Will Bruin led all goal scorers with five on the day.

The Dynamo U-18s, who are riding a four-game winning streak and sit in second place in their division, nearly got on the board first in Tuesday’s scrimmage. Midfielder Jorge Contreras got the ball on the left side of the penalty box and crossed it into the middle of the area. Jose Rodriguez ran on to the ball and struck it well, but the ball hit off the near post and trickled out for a goal kick.

The Dynamo got on the board in the 14th minute after Franck Songo’s cross from the touchline deflected off midfielder Dener Dos Santos and past goalkeeper Leopoldo Castillo.

Fort Bend Bush senior Bryan Salazar nearly leveled the match in the 31st minute, but his header from a Carlos Ibarra corner kick fell wide of the net.

Castillo was was forced into action often for the Academy in the first half, including saves on long-range strikes from Kofi Sarkodie and Songo’o.

The Dynamo doubled their lead in the 39th minute when Sarkodie found Ricardo Clark in the penalty box. Clark turned a defender before firing the ball under the crossbar to put the first team ahead 2-0.

Dynamo forward Cam Weaver added a third for Houston before halftime, heading home a cross from Je-Vaughn Watson in the 41st minute.

Dominic Kinnear made five substitutions at halftime and the fresh legs proved too much for the young opposition.

Bruin scored less than a minute into the half to make the score 4-0 and followed that up with his second goal minutes later to increase the lead to 5-0.

In the 58th minute, Warren Creavalle and Bruin combined for a give-and-go that freed Creavalle down the right sideline. The defender beat his man to the end line and sent in a cross that was handled by Academy defender Christian Gonzalez. The referee pointed to the spot and rookie striker Jason Johnson converted the penalty kick to increase the first team’s lead.

In the 71st minute, Alex Dixon used his speed to beat a pair of Academy midfielders before placing the ball past second-half goalkeeper Josh Blair. Minutes later, Adam Moffat beat a defender to the ball in the Academy's box and fired a rocket under the crossbar for the game’s eighth goal.

Bruin, who recently returned from training camp with the U.S. men’s national team, scored three goals over the final 15 minutes to cap off the scrimmage.

The Dynamo will resume training at HASP this week before heading to Charleston for their final preseason matches. Houston will take on the Chicago Fire, Vancouver Whitecaps and Charleston Battery in the tournament. All matches will be streamed at www.uslnation.com.

The Dynamo Academy will look to take over first place this weekend when they head to Austin to take on Lonestar SC.

Houston Dynamo vs. Dynamo Academy U-18
February 12, 2013 – Houston Amateur Sports Park
Preseason Scrimmage

Scoring Summary:

HOU  – Dener Dos Santos (own goal) 14
HOU – Ricardo Clark (Kofi Sarkodie) 41
HOU – Cam Weaver (Je-Vaughn Watson) 41
HOU – Will Bruin 46
HOU – Will Bruin (Brad Davis) 52
HOU – Jason Johnson (penalty kick) 58
HOU – Alex Dixon 71
HOU – Adam Moffat 74
HOU – Will Bruin (Luiz Camargo) 77
HOU – Will Bruin (Brian Ownby) 81
HOU – Will Bruin (Jimmy Nealis) 83)

Houston Dynamo  – Tyler Deric (Erich Marscheider 60); Kofi Sarkodie (Mike Chabala 46), Anthony Arena* (Luiz Camargo 46), Eric Brunner, Jimmy Nealis*; Je-Vaughn Watson (Adam Moffat 46), Warren Creavalle, Ricardo Clark (Brian Ownby 60), Franck Songo'o* (Brad Davis 46); Cam Weaver (Will Bruin 46), Jason Johnson.

Houston Dynamo Academy U-18 – Leopoldo Castillo (Josh Blair 68); Christian Gonzalez (Luis Esquivel 77), Garrett Welch, Christian Diaz, Alex Ochoa; Dener Dos Santos (Jorge Andrade 77), Jose Rodriguez, Jorge Contreras (Michael Odenigwe 46); Bryan Salazar, Carlos Ibarra, Irvin Ramirez (Martin Agredo 60).