Anthony Vasser/Houston Dynamo

NWSL announces protected and unprotected players ahead of 2014 Expansion Draft

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) today announced the official list of protected and unprotected players ahead of the 2014 Expansion Draft on Friday, Jan. 10. The Houston Dash will become the ninth club to join the NWSL when they begin play this season. They will be able to select up to ten (10) players in the Expansion Draft, though no club can lose more than two players. The results of the Expansion Draft will be announced starting at 10 a.m. (CT).

Each current NWSL club has had the opportunity to protect nine (playoff teams) or ten (non-playoff teams) players from their 2014 roster. Any club with more than two (2) U.S. allocated players must leave at least one U.S. allocated player unprotected. The Dash will be allowed to select no more than two (2) U.S. allocated players, one (1) Canadian allocated player and one (1) Mexican allocated player.

Only two players will be exempt from the Expansion Draft, the Boston Breakers’ Kyah Simon (acl surgery) and Western New York Flash’s Alex Sahlen (pregnancy) as they will be unavailable for the entire 2014 season. In addition, clubs have until Mar. 10 to sign any player whose rights are a hold-over from 2013 season.

A complete list of the Expansion Draft rules can be found here.


Boston Breakers

Courtney Jones 
Julie King 
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Joanna Lohman 
Kia McNeill 
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Alyssa Naeher 
Heather O'Reilly (USA)
Lianne Sanderson 
Catherine Whitehill
Jazmyne Avant 
Michelle Betos 
Bianca D'Agostino 
Maddy Evans 
Dinora Garza (MEX)
Meghan Klingenberg (USA)
Jessica Luscinski (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Melissa Ortiz 
Kathryn Schoepfer 
Chelsea Stewart (CAN)

Chicago Red Stars

Zakiya Bywaters 
Lori Chalupny 
Taryn Hemmings 
Jennifer Hoy 
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Leslie Osborne 
Christen Press (USA)
Rachel Quon (CAN)
Casey Short (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Taylor Vancil

Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Ella Masar 
Alyssa Mautz 
Jacqueline Santacaterina 
Julianne Sitch 
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)
Lindsay Tarpley (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Lydia Vandenbergh 
Michelle Wenino 

FC Kansas City

Jen Buczkowski 
Melissa Henderson 
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Nikki Krzysik 
Merritt Mathias 
Leigh Ann Robinson 
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Erika Tymrak

Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Elizabeth Bogus 
Sinead Farrelly 
Jamie French 
Bianca Henninger 
Katie Kelly 
Casey Loyd 
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Nia Williams
Discovery Player #1
Discovery Player #2
Discovery Player #3
Discovery Player #4
Discovery Player #5
Discovery Player #6

Portland Thorns FC

Jackie Acevedo (MEX)
Amber Brooks 
Tobin Heath (USA)
Allie Long 
Nikki Marshall 
Alex Morgan (USA)
Rebecca Moros 
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Kat Williamson

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Becky Edwards 
Tina Ellertson 
Angie Kerr 
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Jessica McDonald 
Emilee O'Neil 
Casey Ramirez 
Meleana Shim 
Nikki Washington 
Tiffany Weimer 
Michele Weissenhofer (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Courtney Wetzel 
Discovery Player #1
Discovery Player #2
Discovery Player #3
Discovery Player #4

Seattle Reign FC

Lauren Barnes 
Jessica Fishlock 
Danielle Foxhoven 
Beverly Goebel-Yanez 
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Kim Little 
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Elli Reed 
Hope Solo (USA)
Keelin Winters 

Stephanie Cox (USA)
Kiersten Dallstream 
Kate Deines 
Kaley Fountain (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Alina Garciamendez (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Mariah Nogueira 
Arianna Romero (MEX)
Discovery Player #1
Discovery Player #2
Discovery Player #3
Discovery Player #4
Discovery Player #5
Discovery Player #6

Sky Blue FC

Lisa De Vanna 
Caitlin Foord 
Katy Freels 
Courtney Goodson 
Lindsi Cutshall 
Monica Ocampo (MEX)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Discovery Player #1

Danesha Adams 
Brittany Bock 
Brittany Cameron 
Alison Falk (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)
Kendall Johnson 
Meghan Lenczyk (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Jillian Loyden (USA)
Taylor Lytle 
Ashley Nick 
Kelley O'Hara (USA)
Madeleine Thompson 
Kandace Wilson (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Discovery Player #1

Washington Spirit

Yael Averbuch (USA)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Victoria Huster 
Ali Krieger (USA)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Christine Nairn 
Stephanie Ochs 
Toni Pressley 
Jodie Taylor

Marisa Abegg 
Jordan Angeli (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Candace Chapman 
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Chantel Jones 
Natasha Kai (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Lori Lindsey 
Tiffany McCarty 
Caroline Miller 
Julia Roberts 
Jasmyne Spencer 
Kika Toulouse 
Colleen Williams 
Discovery Player #1
Discovery Player #2

Western New York Flash

Adrianna Franch 
Samantha Kerr 
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Adriana Martin 
Katherine Reynolds 
Brittany Taylor 
Abby Wambach (USA)
McCall Zerboni 
Discovery Player #1

Amy Barczuk 
Vicki DiMartino 
Val Henderson (2013 Hold-over Rights)
Sarah Huffman 
Selenia Iacchelli (CAN)
Estelle Johnson 
Veronica Perez (MEX)
Angela Salem