USA TODAY Sports Images

Giles Barnes caps durable season with club minutes record and second Dynamo Golden Boot

As the Houston Dynamo ended the 2014 season with a disappointing 2-1 road defeat against the Chicago Fire on Friday, forward Giles Barnes capped his season with another 90-minute shift, his 29th in 34 regular-season games. In all, Barnes played all but 32 of the possible 3,060 minutes this season.

With his latest 90-minute appearance, Barnes set a new Dynamo record for minutes by a field player in a single season, with 3,028. Barnes eclipsed Geoff Cameron, who set the previous record with 2,970 regular-season minutes in the 2011 season. (Note: Tally Hall holds the overall record for minutes in a season, including goalkeepers. Hall played 3,060 minutes in 2011 and 2013).

Most regular season minutes by a Dynamo field player, single season:

Player Regular Season Minutes Year
Giles Barnes 3,028 2014
Geoff Cameron 2,970 2011
Kofi Sarkodie 2,948 2013
Bobby Boswell 2,930 2012

Perhaps more impressive, Barnes’ 3,028 minutes are the most by a midfielder or forward in MLS since 2011, when Sebastian LeToux played all 3,060 minutes of the season.

Most regular season minutes by an MLS forward or midfielder since 2011, single season:

Player Regular Season Minutes Year
Sebastien Le Toux 3,060 2011
Nick LaBrocca 3,058 2011
Jeff Larentowicz 3,051 2011
Joel Lindpere 3,048 2011
Giles Barnes 3,028 2014

After a well-documented unlucky spell of injuries in England, Barnes has remained healthy since joining the Dynamo in August 2012, starting 66 of a possible 68 regular season games the last two seasons, plus five more appearances (four starts) in the 2013 playoffs.

Barnes also retained the Dynamo Budweiser Golden Boot with 11 regular-season goals in 2014, one better than regular forward partner Will Bruin. After winning the club’s Golden Boot in 2013, Barnes joins Brian Ching (2010, 2009, 2008) as the only players with more than one Golden Boot in club history. Barnes can aim to match Ching with three straight scoring awards next season.