Wilf Thorne/Houston Dynamo

Houston Dynamo announce 2014 team awards

The Houston Dynamo announced their 2014 team awards on Friday night at Dynamo Celebration, the club’s annual year-end event. 

Forward Giles Barnes headlined the event by capturing four club awards: Most Valuable Player, Players’ Player of the Year, Budweiser Golden Boot and Ironman of the Year.

The Dynamo MVP (media vote) and Players’ Player of the Year selections are the first for Barnes. Barnes scored six goals in the final nine games of the season to finish the year with 11 goals, a personal-best in three seasons with Houston. Barnes led the club in scoring to capture his second straight Golden Boot award, joining Brian Ching as the only players in club history with multiple scoring titles. Barnes also set a Dynamo career-high with five assists.

The London native started all 34 regular-season games and amassed 3,028 regular-season minutes, setting a club record for minutes by a field player, to win Ironman of the Year. Barnes’ minutes total eclipsed Geoff Cameron’s previous club mark and was the most by an MLS field player since 2011 (Sebastian Le Toux). Barnes has appeared in 67 of a possible 68 regular-season games in the last two seasons. 

Honduras national team midfielder Luis Garrido earned Newcomer of the Year and Young Player of the Year honors. Garrido, 24, made his Houston debut on Aug. 3 and helped the Dynamo keep a clean sheet in four of his first nine appearances. Garrido made 11 starts in his first season with Houston after appearing in two games at the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Dynamo captain Brad Davis earned MLS Works Dynamo Humanitarian of the Year for his efforts in Banded Brigade Outdoors, which provides morale-boosting events for returning members of the U.S. Armed Forces. Davis and Tally Hall led Armed Forces Appreciation Night, which generated 2,400 donated tickets to armed forces members for the July 4 home game.  

Midfielder Boniek García earned Goal of the Year honors for his volley goal against the Chicago Fire on Sept. 28. (WATCH: Boniek García’s Goal of the Year.)

Goalkeeper Tyler Deric secured the Save of the Year nod for his penalty kick save against Toronto FC’s Jermain Defoe on Oct. 8. (WATCH: Tyler Deric’s Save of the Year.)

Christian Molina (U-18s) earned Dynamo Academy Player of the Year honors while Christian Lucatero (U-18s) was voted the Dynamo Academy Players’ Player of the Year.

Other award winners: Leo Ponce (Fan of the Year); Olevia Winn (Team Spirit Award); Cesar Martinez (Forever Orange Award).

The Dynamo Charities event, presented by the Halliburton Charitable Foundation, was held at Crowne Plaza Reliant Park. A portion of proceeds from the event will benefit Dynamo Charities.

The full list of 2014 Dynamo Awards winners:

Most Valuable Player: Giles Barnes
Player’s Player of the Year: Giles Barnes
Newcomer of the Year: Luis Garrido
Young Player of the Year: Luis Garrido
Budweiser Golden Boot: Giles Barnes (most regular season goals)
MLS WORKS Dynamo Humanitarian of the Year: Brad Davis
Ironman of the Year: Giles Barnes (most regular season minutes by a field player)
Goal of the Year: Boniek García volley vs. Chicago Fire (67th Minute – September 28)
Save of the Year: Tyler Deric penalty kick save at Toronto FC (58th minute – October 8)
Dynamo Academy Player of the Year: Christian Molina
Dynamo Academy Players’ Player of the Year: Christian Lucatero
Fan of the Year: Leo Ponce
Team Spirit Award: Olevia Winn (Dynamo Girls)
Forever Orange Award: Cesar Martinez (outstanding outside contributor)