Wilf Thorne/Houston Dash

Houston Dash announce 2015 team awards

The Houston Dash announced their 2015 team awards at a team celebration on Tuesday night. Award winners were chosen through voting by Dash coaching staff and front office.

Forward Kealia Ohai was named Most Valuable Player and voted Players’ Player of the Year for the 2015 season. Ohai, who won Newcomer and Young Player of the Year in her rookie season last year, tallied five assists (tied for second most in the NWSL) and scored four goals (tied for second on the team). The speedy forward also started 19 games and led the team with 1,692 minutes played to earn the Ironwoman Award.

Ellie Brush earned Defender of the Year honors after transferring from Canberra United in the Australian W-League in May. Brush entered as a late substitute in the 1-0 win at Portland Thorns FC on May 23, then started and played 90 minutes at center back in every match after. Brush scored her only goal of the year in the 3-2 home win over FC Kansas City on July 29, and provided an assist in the 2-0 win against the Western New York Flash on June 20.

Midfielder Carli Lloyd was named Newcomer of the Year after the Dash traded for U.S. international last October. Lloyd scored four goals in 12 games with Houston, three of them game-winners. The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Ball winner scored in her first game with the Dash on April 10 against the Washington Spirit, and her 30-yard game-winning goal in the 86th minute against FC Kansas City on July 29 was also named Play of the Year.

The full list of Dash Awards winners:

Most Valuable Player: Kealia Ohai
Player’s Player of the Year: Kealia Ohai   
Defender of the Year: Ellie Brush
Newcomer of the Year: Carli Lloyd
Young Player of the Year: Andressa (U-23)
Golden Boot: Jessica McDonald (most regular season goals)
Humanitarian of the Year: Ella Masar
Ironwoman of the Year: Kealia Ohai (most regular season minutes by a field player)
Play of the Year: Carli Lloyd’s game-winning goal vs. FC Kansas City on July 29
Game of the Year: May 23 – Dash 1, Portland Thorns FC 0