Getty Images

Nine days to Opening Day: A look at the number 9s in Houston Dynamo history

We are now nine days away from the 2016 MLS season opener between the Houston Dynamo and New England Revolution, March 6 at BBVA Compass Stadium (TICKETS). Yesterday, we started the countdown with a look at the history of the No. 10 jersey in Dynamo history over the first 10 seasons, highlighted by Giles Barnes.

Today, we move on to a similarly famous No. 9. Currently occupied by Mexican forward Erick Torres, the No. 9 jersey often designates a center forward. The No. 9 jersey was well represented over the club’s first five seasons by Brian Mullan, who helped Houston to MLS Cup victories in 2006 and 2007.

Mullan is famous for perhaps the most important assist in Dynamo history, Brian Ching’s equalizing goal in the 2006 MLS Cup Final (more below).

The midfielder was a key part of both MLS Cup runs, starting 13 playoff games in Houston, including both MLS Cup finals. He is sixth in Dynamo history with 184 appearances in all competitions and third on the club’s assists list with 29, trailing only Brian Ching and Brad Davis.

Macoumba Kandji wore No. 9 in 2012, his lone season in Houston. Playing mostly as a winger in a 4-3-3 formation, the Senegal native helped the Dynamo reach the MLS Cup Final with four goals and two assists in 29 appearances (21 starts).

Mullan’s best Dynamo moment in the No. 9 jersey: Moments after Taylor Twellman gave New England a 1-0 lead 23 minutes into extra time at the 2006 MLS Cup Final, Mullan delivered a cross from the right flank and Brian Ching headed past Matt Reis for a stunning equalizer. It was Mullan’s third assist of the postseason and the Dynamo went on to win the penalty shootout for their first MLS Cup. 

Honorable mention: Mullan assisted on Paul Dalgish’s game-winning goal and added a stunning volley goal midway through the second half as the Dynamo defeated the Colorado Rapids 3-1 in the 2006 Western Conference Final.

Dynamo jersey history, all-time. No. 9 jersey:

Brian Mullan, 2006-10
Jason Garey, 2011
Macoumba Kandji, 2012
Bryan Salazar, 2013-14
Erick Torres, 2015-

Countdown to Opening Day

No. 10A look at the No. 10s in Dynamo history