BBVA Compass Stadium to host 2016 NWSL Championship

BBVA Compass Stadium will play host to the 2016 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) Championship, the league and the Houston Dash announced today. The NWSL Championship will be played Sunday, October 9 and will be televised nationally on FOX Sports 1. The kickoff time will be announced at a later date.

BBVA Compass Stadium is the home of the Houston Dash, who open their season later this evening at home against the Chicago Red Stars.

“We are thrilled to announce that BBVA Compass Stadium, one of the best soccer venues in the country, will be the site of the 2016 NWSL Championship, “ NWSL Commissioner Jeff Plush said. “The city of Houston is a fantastic market for big events and has a strong history of always supporting them, whether it be the recently held NCAA Men’s Final Four or next year’s Super Bowl.”

The NWSL Championship game is included in Dash Season Memberships starting at $125. If you are interested in becoming a Dash member, visit HoustonDashSoccer.com or call 713-276-GOAL. Individual tickets to the match will go on sale at a later date.

Tickets will be held for fans of both participating teams and will be made available in a special sales window once the teams are set.

"We are proud to have been chosen as the host venue for the NWSL Championship,” said Houston Dash president Chris Canetti. “Our organization is fully committed to the success and growth of women’s professional soccer, and hosting this event is another opportunity for us to display that. We are most pleased about being able to bring this event to our fans and community."

BBVA Compass Stadium is a state-of-the-art, open-air stadium designed to host Houston Dynamo and Houston Dash matches, along with Texas Southern University football games as well as additional professional, collegiate and community sporting events, concerts, exhibitions, conventions and special events. The stadium will also play host to the 2016 NCAA Men’s Division I College Cup in early December.

The top four teams in the NWSL standings qualify for the playoffs and the higher-seeded teams will each host semifinal matches. Both semifinals and the championship match will be broadcast on FOX Sports 1.