Houston Dynamo forward Erick Torres named to Mexico Olympic Team

Houston Dynamo forward Erick Torres has been named to Mexico’s Under-23 national team for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The Federación Mexicana de Fútbol Associatión (FMF) announced the 18-player squad today.

Torres is the only player in Major League Soccer to be called into the team, as well as the only non-Liga MX player on the roster. Mexico is seeking to defend the gold medal that they won in the 2012 London Olympics. El Tri was drawn into Group C along with Germany, South Korea and Fiji. Group C begins play in the group stage of the tournament on Thursday, August 4.

Last October, Torres was named to the Best XI team at the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship by the Technical Study Group after scoring three goals. Mexico won its second consecutive CONCACAF U-23 championship to qualify for 2016 Rio Olympics.

Torres traveled to France with the Mexico U-23 team in the Toulon Hopefuls tournament earlier this summer and returned this week from a two-week pre-Olympic camp with the team in which he scored twice in three matches.

Mexico Olympic Roster:

  1. Alfredo Talavera, Toluca
  2. Manuel Lajud, Tijuana
  3. José Javier Abella, Santos Laguna
  4. Erick Aguirre, Pachuca
  5. César Montes, Monterrey
  6. Carlos Salcedo, Guadalajara
  7. Jordan Silva, Toluca
  8. Jorge Torres Nilo, Tigres
  9. Carlos Cisneros, Guadalajara
  10. Rodolfo Pizarro, Pachuca
  11. Víctor Guzmán, Pachuca
  12. Erick Gutiérrez, Pachuca
  13. Michael Pérez, Guadalajara
  14. Hirving Lozano, Pachuca
  15. Alfonso González, Monterrey
  16. Oribe Peralta, América
  17. Erick Torres, Houston Dynamo
  18. Marco Bueno, Guadalajara