Recap: Houston Dynamo 2, Los Angeles FC 2

The Houston Dynamo stormed back from a 2-0 deficit in stoppage time with goals in the 93rd and 96th minutes to walk away for a 2-2 draw with the Los Angeles Football Club Tuesday night at BBVA Compass Stadium. With the draw, the Dynamo extended their home unbeaten run to five games in MLS play.

Down by two as the game clock ticked past the 90-minute mark, the Dynamo looked to be in danger, but forward Mauro Manotas sparked a furious late rally with a left-footed shot in the third minute of stoppage. Defender DaMarcus Beasley, making his 100th appearance for the club, set up the goal for his second assist in as many outings.

Three minutes later, in the dying seconds of the match, defender Philippe Senderos blasted a side volley toward the net and saw his shot carom off a defender and into the back of the net for the equalizer. Senderos’ 96th-minute goal was the latest in club regular-season history. Forward Alberth Elis and Romell Quioto were credited with assists on the play as they scrambled to keep the play alive after an initial headed shot went wide, giving the Dynamo the one last chance they needed to equalize.

LAFC got on the scoring sheet first as forward Latif Blessing put his right-footed shot away near the right post in the fifth minute. Midfielder Lee Nguyen won a duel with the Dynamo defense and passed the ball to forward Adama Diomande. The Norwegian international played the ball to the left side of the box to Blessing, who scored his third goal of the season.

LAFC extended their lead in the 72nd minute through midfielder Mark-Anthony Kaye. Diomande was the danger man again, taking a long ball and playing through to Kaye, who put a left-footed shot into the back of the net.

The Dynamo came out of halftime on fire as they attempted to create chances to even things up at a goal apiece. In the 51st minute, Manotas dribbled past LAFC defender Laurent Ciman and fired a right-footed shot that was parried away by LAFC goalkeeper Tyler Miller. The Dynamo continued to push forward as the half pressed on, and in the 65th midfielder Tomás Martínez received a ball in the left flank and dribbled it into the box. The Argentinean took a shot that was deflected and almost found its way to the net.

Houston Dynamo (6-6-4; 22 pts.) vs. Los Angles Football Club (9-4-4; 31 pts.)
MLS Regular Season Week 19
July 3, 2018 – BBVA Compass Stadium – Houston, Texas
Attendance: 16,037

Scoring Summary:

LAFC: Latif Blessing 3 (Adama Diomande 1, Lee Nguyen 3) 5
LAFC: Mark-Anthony Kaye 2 (Adama Diomande 2) 72
HOU: Mauro Manotas 9 (DaMarcus Beasley 2) 90+3
HOU: Philippe Senderos 2 (Alberth Elis 6, Romell Quioto 8) 90+6

Houston Dynamo: Joe Willis; Adam Lundkvist, Alejandro Fuenmayor, Philippe Senderos, DaMarcus Beasley ©; Eric Bird (Darwin Cerén 58), Tomás Martínez (Luis Gil 78), Boniek García (Memo Rodriguez 73); Alberth Elis, Mauro Manotas, Romell Quioto
Unused subs: Chris Seitz, Jared Watts, Leonardo, Kevin Garcia

Total shots: 16 (Romell Quioto 5); Shots on goal: 8 (Mauro Manotas, Philippe Senderos 3); Fouls: 16 (Alejandro Fuenmayor 3); Offside: 3 (Alberth Elis, Mauro Manotas, Romell Quioto 1); Corner kicks: 10 (Adam Lundkvist 5); Saves: 1 (Joe Willis 1)

Los Angeles Football Club: Tyler Miller; Tristan Blackmon, Walker Zimmerman, Laurent Ciman ©, Jordan Harvey; Benny Feilhaber, Mark Anthony-Kaye, Lee Nguyen (Calum Mallace 89); Aaron Kovar (Shaft Brewer 89), Adam Diomande, Latif Blessing (João Moutinho 65)
Unused subs: Steven Beitashour, Dejan Jakovic, , Charlie Lyon

Total shots: 7 (Mark-Anthony Kaye 3); Shots on goal: 3 (Latif Blessing, Mark-Anthony Kaye, Aaron Kovar 1); Fouls: 13 (Tristan Blackmon 3); Offside: 3 (Adama Diomande 2); Corner kicks: 2 (Lee Nguyen 2); Saves: 6 (Tyler Miller 6)


LAFC: Walker Zimmerman (caution; foul) 22
LAFC: Adam Diomande (caution; foul) 27
HOU: Alejandro Fuenmayor (caution; foul) 30
HOU: Boniek García (caution; foul) 56
LAFC: Tristan Blackmon (caution; foul) 75


Referee: Armando Villareal
Assistant Referee 1: Corey Parker
Assistant Referee 2: Diego Blas
Fourth Official: Jose Carlos Rivero
VAR: Ismael Elfath