International roundup: 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup draw results

Paris took center stage last Saturday as FIFA held the draw to determine the groups of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. We kept our eye on the path for five national teams that aim to reach the final in Lyon on July 7.  

The U.S. Women’s National Team will open the tournament against Thailand on June 11 in Group F play. The three-time World Cup Champions face Chile in the second match day five days later and close group play against a familiar foe in Sweden on June 20. This is the fifth consecutive FIFA Women’s World Cup where the USWNT and Sweden meet in the group stage.  

Australia was drawn into Group C where they will face Brazil, Italy and Jamaica. The Matildas open the tournament against Italy on June 9. Four days later, Australia face a familiar rival in Brazil after numerous clashes in the Tournament of Nations and the penalty shootout at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. The Matildas finish group play against Jamaica, who are making their FIFA Women’s World Cup debut.  

The Canadian Women’s National Team will face Cameroon to open Group E action on June 10. Five days later, the CanWNT will face New Zealand and close group play against the reigning UEFA Women’s champion, the Netherlands on June 20. 

England was drawn into Group D where they will face Argentina, Japan and Scotland. The Lionesses will open the tournament against their regional foe, Scotland on June 9. Five days later England will face Argentina who defeated Panama to earn the final World Cup berth from the Americas. England will close group play on June 19 against the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup runner up, Japan.  

South Africa will make their FIFA Women’s World Cup debut next summer as they compete in Group B. Banyana Banyana open the tournament on June 8 against Spain. Five days later, South Africa will face the eight-time Asian Football Confederation champion China. Banyana Banyana will close group play against the two-time World Cup champion Germany on June 17.

Full Draw Results

Group A

Group B

Group C

France Germany Australia
Korea Republic China PR Italy
Norway Spain Brazil
Nigeria South Africa Jamaica

Group D

Group E

Group F

England Canada USA
Scotland Cameroon Thailand
Argentina New Zealand Chile
Japan Netherlands Sweden