Robertson Stadium

Robertson Stadium

Home to the University of Houston Cougars and the Houston Dynamo, Robertson Stadium was originally constructed in 1941 as a joint project of the Houston Independent School District (HISD) and the federal Works Progress Administration (WPA).

In 1940, HISD purchased the land now bound by Holman, Cullen, Scott and Wheeler streets and passed a resolution in March 1941 to provide $650,000 to build the stadium.

A massive renovation of Robertson Stadium took place in 1998, thanks to a $6 million gift to the University of Houston from the John and Julie O’Quinn Foundation. In addition to the 20 luxury suites added, “Phase I” entailed replacement of the track with a ring of tiered seating, bringing the stadium’s capacity to 32,000. In recognition of John and Julie O’Quinn’s generosity and loyal support, the field at Robertson Stadium was named "John O’Quinn Field."

Wilhelmina Robertson, president of the Cullen Foundation for 50 years, personally contributed $500,000 to update the stadium, named after her first husband. Wilhelmina's second husband, Ed Smith, also chipped in a substantial amount to insure that the University of Houston made Robertson Stadium viable for soccer.

Top 11 Houston Dynamo Crowds at Robertson Stadium

30,972 11/10/07 HOU vs. KC 2007 Western Conference Final
30,588 10/7/07 HOU vs. LA  
30,361 10/18/08 HOU vs. LA  
30,088 11/2/07 HOU vs. FCD 2007 Western Conference semifinal, second leg
30,053 11/9/08 HOU vs. NY 2008 Western Conference semifinal, second leg
30,018 10/23/11 HOU vs. LA Final regular season match at Robertson
29,470 10/18/09 HOU vs. LA  
28,723 7/15/08 HOU vs. Chivas (MEX) SuperLiga
28,440 9/4/11 HOU vs. Monterrey (MEX)  
27,465 11/8/09 HOU vs. SEA 2009 Western Conference semifinal, second leg
25,462 4/2/06 HOU vs. COL Inaugural Dynamo match