Thomas B. Shea / Houston Dynamo

De Rosario's goals lead Dynamo to semis

The Houston Dynamo advanced to the semifinals of the CONCACAF Champions’ Cup with a 3-1 win over CSD Municipal Wednesday night at Robertson Stadium in Houston, winning on aggregate by the same score. The Dynamo broke open the 0-0 game in the second half with two goals from midfielder Dwayne De Rosario.

Houston will face the winner of the quarterfinal between Atlante (Mexico) and Deportivo Saprissa (Costa Rica), hosting the first leg April 2 at Robertson Stadium and playing the return leg April 9.

Municipal played without midfielder Fredy Garcia, the team’s leading scorer, who was denied an entry visa, but still dominated the first 20 minutes. Mario Rodriguez missed the game’s best early chance in the 10th minute when he fired a left-footed shot high after a through ball from Gonzalo Romero.

Houston remained dangerous on set pieces, however, and Municipal goalkeeper Jaime Penedo had to be alert to palm Craig Waibel’s 14th-minute header over the crossbar. The Dynamo began to mount more pressure in the middle of the half, amassing eight corner kicks in the first 30 minutes.

Municipal threatened again in the 37th minute, when Rodriguez sped past Houston’s back line and broke in alone on Dynamo goalkeeper Pat Onstad, who stood his ground to make the biggest save of the match. The Dynamo responded in the 41st minute with a pass over the top from Craig Waibel, but Dwayne De Rosario’s lob curled over the top of the crossbar.

The Dynamo broke the 135-minute scoreless deadlock just after halftime thanks to De Rosario, who blocked a clearance and finished from 10 yards past a charging Penedo.

Municipal stayed in the game and had a good chance to tie the game in the 54th minute when Romero broke in on the left side of the penalty area and ripped a low shot, but Onstad reacted well to make a foot save.

In the 67th minute, the Dynamo earned a penalty kick when De Rosario fed Corey Ashe on the left wing, and Ashe was taken down in the penalty area. De Rosario stepped up for the penalty kick and buried it into the lower left corner to double Houston’s lead.

Tensions flared a minute later near midfield, and both teams engaged in a heated shoving match that resulted in two yellow cards for each squad. The Dynamo sealed the match shortly after, as Brian Ching turned at the top of the box and played Ashe through on the left side. Ashe one-timed a pass across the face of goal to Chris Wondolowski for a six-yard tap-in to give Houston a 3-0 lead.

The Dynamo’s Wade Barrett was whistled for a handball in the penalty area in the 85th minute, and Municipal’s Guillermo Ramirez buried the penalty kick in the lower left corner to bring his team to within 3-1. Municipal had a golden chance to score again in the 89th minute, but Rodriguez’s header hit the base of the post, and Houston held on for the win.

Municipal vs. Houston Dynamo
March 19, 2008 -- Robertson Stadium, Houston TX
CONCACAF Champions' Cup -- Quarterfinals, Game 2

Scoring Summary:
HOU -- Dwayne De Rosario 1 (unassisted) 47
HOU -- Dwayne De Rosario 2 (penalty kick) 69
HOU -- Chris Wondolowski 1 (Corey Ashe 1) 75
MUN -- Guillermo Ramirez 1 (penalty kick) 86

Municipal -- Jaime Penedo, Claudio Albizures, Renato Blanco, Selvyn Ponciano, Pablo Melgar, Gonzalo Romero, Fredy Thompson, Sergio Guevara, Guillermo Ramirez, Mario Rodriguez, Israel Silva (Carlos Figueroa 63).
Substitutes Not Used: unavailable.

Houston Dynamo -- Pat Onstad, Craig Waibel, Bobby Boswell, Eddie Robinson, Wade Barrett, Richard Mulrooney, Ricardo Clark, Dwayne De Rosario (Brian Mullan 77), Corey Ashe, Brian Ching, Chris Wondolowski (Franco Caraccio 75).
Substitutes Not Used: unavailable.

Misconduct Summary:
HOU -- Bobby Boswell (caution) 32
MUN -- Pablo Melgar (caution) 43
MUN -- Fredy Thompson (caution) 72
MUN -- Selvyn Ponciano (caution) 72
HOU -- Dwayne De Rosario (caution) 72
HOU -- Chris Wondolowski (caution) 72
MUN -- Mario Rodriguez (caution) 93+

Referee: Mauricio Morales (MEX)
Referee's Assistants: Arturo Velasquez (MEX); Francisco Perez (MEX)
4th official: Baldomero Toledo (USA)
Attendance: 14,348

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial