Courtesy Jim Fallon

Dynamo Academy takes Dallas Cup U-16 title

The Houston Dynamo Academy won its second Dallas Cup title in three years on Sunday, with the U-16s taking a 2-1 victory over Santa Clara Sporting to win the U-16 age bracket. Houston's previous Dallas Cup title came in 2008 in the U-17 age bracket.

Forward Isaiah Noreiga (Humble Kingwood Park) scored both goals, running his total to four for the tournament. Noreiga, who appeared for the Dynamo in the U-19 age bracket last year as a 15-year-old, also netted the clinching penalty kick in Houston's quarterfinal shootout against Solar.

On Sunday, Noreiga opened the scoring with a classy goal in just the fifth minute, but the Dynamo found themselves on the back foot for the remainder of the half. Santa Clara tied the game in the 20th minute, and the teams went into the halftime break tied 1-1.

The Dynamo Academy responded with a great second half, Dynamo Director of Youth Development James Clarkson said, controlling the game at a high tempo throughout. Noreiga broke the tie in the 65th minute with a free kick from outside the penalty area, and the Dynamo held on to celebrate the win and the tournament title. That five-hour drive back to Houston will not seem quite so long now.

Houston lost its first group game but then ran off four wins sandwiched around a shootout win to win the group on goal differential and advance through the eight-team playoffs for the title. The Dynamo outscored opponents 8-2 in six games in the tournament.

Dynamo Academy teams return to USSF Development Academy league play next weekend, hosting Solar on Saturday and the Dallas Texans on Sunday at both the U-16 and U-18 levels, with games scheduled for the Carl Lewis Track & Field Complex.

Houston Dynamo Academy vs. Santa Clara Sporting
April 4, 2010 – Pizza Hut Park, Frisco
Dallas Cup U-16 Final

Scoring Summary:
HOU -- Isaiah Noreiga (unassisted) 5
SCS -- Goal 20
HOU -- Isaiah Noreiga (unassisted) 65

Dynamo Academy -- Juan Navarrete, Orlin Ramirez, Bradley Bourgeois, Leo Ayala, Hector Ramirez, Gabriel Moreno (Juan Carlos Salmeron 65), Raymundo Marquez, Michael Diaz (David Dauajare 45, Jimmy Fallon 70), Erick Sanchez (Bryan Salazar 54), Manuel Chavez, Isaiah Noreiga.

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial