Stephen Dunn / Getty Images

Galaxy stay undefeated, roll over Dynamo

The Los Angeles Galaxy once again showed why they are the best team in the league with a 4-1 defeat of the Houston Dynamo on Saturday night at The Home Depot Center.

Jovan Kirovski scored two of the Galaxy's four goals as LA extended their undefeated streak to 12 games to start the season, tying the league record, and its MLS/playoff unbeaten streak to 18 games, dating back to last September.

The Galaxy got on the board early, as Kirovski opened the scoring after just 46 seconds with a header off a Sean Franklin cross. After Houston tied the game, the tandem struck again in the 21st minute as Franklin once again delivered to Kirovski, giving the Galaxy a lead that they would not relinquish. This time an unmarked Kirovski deposited home with his right foot.

Tristan Bowen added a third just three minutes after the halftime break, beating a Dynamo defender and then goalkeeper Pat Onstad at the near post. The goal was the second in the MLS career of the 19-year-old and his second in two matches. The Galaxy put the game out of reach with a fourth goal, as Brazilian Alex Cazumba scored his first career MLS goal on a diagonal shot that beat Onstad.

The Dynamo had momentarily equalized in the seventh minute when striker Cam Weaver collided with goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts at the top of the Galaxy penalty area. The Jamaican goalkeeper delivered a cleat to Weaver's midsection as the ball continued to roll toward the goal for a 1-1 tie. The Dynamo striker lay on the ground for several minutes but was eventually able to return to the match. 

It was the third consecutive league defeat for Houston, while the Galaxy moved to a league-best 10-0-2 record that puts them 11 points clear atop the Western Conference.

Houston Dynamo (5-7-1) vs. Los Angeles Galaxy (10-0-2)
June 05, 2010 –- The Home Depot Center, Carson CA

Scoring Summary:
LA -- Jovan Kirovski 2 (Sean Franklin 3, Michael Stephens 4) 1
HOU -- Cam Weaver 1 (unassisted) 7
LA -- Jovan Kirovski 3 (Sean Franklin 4, Michael Stephens 5) 21
LA -- Tristan Bowen 2 (unassisted) 48
LA -- Alex Cazumba 1 (Michael Stephens 6) 56

Houston Dynamo -- Pat Onstad, Craig Waibel (Brian Mullan 60), BobbyBoswell, Eddie Robinson, Andrew Hainault, Danny Cruz (Dominic Oduro 60), Lovel Palmer, Brad Davis (Richard Mulrooney 67), Corey Ashe, Cam Weaver, Brian Ching.
Substitutes Not Used: Tally Hall, Ryan Cochrane, Francisco Navas Cobo, Joseph Ngwenya.

Los Angeles Galaxy -- Donovan Ricketts, Sean Franklin, Omar Gonzalez, Gregg Berhalter (A.J. DeLaGarza), Todd Dunivant, Michael Stephens, Chris Birchall, Juninho (Chris Klein 61), Alex Cazumba, Jovan Kirovski (Clint Mathis 70), Tristan Bowen.
Substitutes Not Used: Josh Saunders, Bryan Jordan, Eddie Lewis, Alan Gordon.

Misconduct Summary:
LA -- Gregg Berhalter (caution; Persistent Infringement) 60

Referee: Paul Ward
Referee's Assistants: Sean Hurd; Eric Boria
4th official: Alejandro Mariscal
Attendance: 20,826
Weather: Clear-and-71-degrees

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial