Dynamo to host Morelia semi on August 5

The Houston Dynamo will host Mexican club Monarcas Morelia in the semifinals of SuperLiga 2010 on Thursday, August 5, at Robertson Stadium at 7 p.m., it was announced today. With just one loss in their last 10 total outings, the Dynamo are in search of their first ever international title.

Houston advanced to the semifinals by winning Group A with a 2-0-1 record, including emotional wins over Mexican clubs Pachuca and Puebla. Morelia advanced after finishing second in Group B with a 2-1 record. The teams have met once before, in the 2007 SuperLiga, playing to a 1-1 tie at Robertson Stadium.

Tickets for the Dynamo-Morelia match will go on sale on Friday at and are available by calling the Dynamo offices at (713) 276-7500. Prices start at $49.99 for the SuperLiga 4-pack and at $20 for individual seats. Season ticket holders may purchase their seats for a reduced price by using account manager or contacting their customer service specialists.

“This is a terrific opportunity for our fans to see exciting soccer in a playoff-type atmosphere,” Dynamo Chief Operating Officer Chris Canetti said. “Games between American clubs and Mexican clubs are always heated, and our games against Pachuca and Puebla in the group stage were two of the best of the season. We expect more of the same in the semifinals, and the intensity should be even higher with an international championship on the line.”

The other SuperLiga semifinal will take place on Wednesday, August 4, with the New England Revolution hosting Puebla at 6 p.m. CT. Houston and New England faced each other in a memorable 2008 SuperLiga championship game, with the Revolution edging the Dynamo in sudden death penalty kicks.

The semifinals will be broadcast of the Univision family of networks. The SuperLiga 2010 final venue and date will be announced once the finalists are known.

The Houston Dynamo are a Major League Soccer club that has won two MLS Cup championships in its first four seasons and represented the United States in international competition in four consecutive seasons.