MLS announces seniors invited to combine

With the MLS SuperDraft just a month away, MLS announced on Thursday morning the initial list of college seniors who have been invited to the 2011 adidas MLS Player Combine.

The 54 college seniors named come from 36 Division I schools. They were selected by a panel of Division I coaches in conjunction with MLS coaches.

The list boasts many college standouts, including nine players from the four teams competing in this coming weekend's College Cup: J.T. Murray (Louisville); Justin Meram (Michigan); Anthony Ampaipitakwong (pictured above) and Christopher Korb (Akron); and Eddie Ababio, Jalil Anibaba, Michael Farfan, Stephen McCarthy and Dustin McCarty (UNC).

This is just the initial list of invitees. More players, including those from the Generation adidas program, Division II and II schools, and NAIA schools, will be added in the coming weeks.

The combine is set to take place in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., Jan. 7-11. will have full coverage of the combine games and profiles of many of the players. 

2011 adidas MLS Player Combine list by position 

GOALKEEPERS (5): Bryan Meredith (Monmouth); Jeff Attinella (University of South Florida); Jimmy Maurer (South Carolina); Joe Willis (University of Denver); Josh Ford (UConn) 

DEFENDERS (17): A.J. Soares (California); Bilal Duckett (Notre Dame); Bobby Warshaw (Stanford); Christopher Korb (Akron); Colin Givens (Michigan State); Curtis Ushedo (UAB); Demitrius Omphroy (California); Eddie Ababio (UNC); Greg Klazura (Notre Dame); Greg King (UConn); Indy Smith (UNC Wilmington); Jalil Anibaba (UNC); J.T. Murray (Louisville); Juan Cruz (SMU); Michael Boxall (UCSB); Rich Balchan (Indiana); Tyler Lassiter (North Carolina State) 

MIDFIELDERS (21): Anthony Ampaipitakwong (Akron); Blake Brettschneider (South Carolina); Cole Grossman (Duke); Daniel Keat (Dartmouth); Dustin McCarty (UNC); Ernesto Carranza (Sacramento State); Guillermo Cortes (Maryland); Hector Jimenez (California); Jimmy Banks (Green Bay); John "Jeb" Brovsky (Notre Dame); Jon Okafor (Brown); Josue Soto (SMU); Karl Reddick (Boston College); Konrad Warzycha (Ohio State); Lebogang Pila (St. Peter's College); Matheus Braga (Penn State); Matt Gold (Ohio State); Michael Farfan (UNC); Servando Carrasco (California); Stephen McCarthy (UNC); Tommy Drake (Clemson)

FORWARDS (11): Amani Walker (UCI); Ashley McInnes (Tulsa); Brayan Martinez (Seton Hall University); CJ Sapong (James madison); Davis Paul (California); Efrain Burgos (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo), Jason Herrick (Maryland); Justin Meram (Michigan); Levi Houapeu (UMBC); Philip Bannister (Loyola University Maryland); Steven Perry (Notre Dame)