Dwayne De Rosario
Getty Images

Canada announces squad for friendly at BBVA Compass Stadium

Canadian men's national team interim head coach Colin Miller named his 22-man squad that would participate in a training camp ahead of Canada's Jan. 29 friendly against the United States at BBVA Compass Stadium.


The squad is led by MLS all-star Dwayne De Rosario, who scored 24 goals over three years for Houston, leading the Dynamo to MLS Cup championships in 2006 and 2007. De Rosario currently plys his trade with D.C. United and has 71 caps for the full national team.

READ: Davis looking to translate club success to national team level

The former Dynamo striker could line up against three current Dynamo stars when the two squads take the field at BBVA Compass Stadium. Dynamo midfielder Brad Davis, forward Will Bruin and goalkeeper Tally Hall are currently in camp with the USMNT.

READ: Bruin impressing Klinsmann in first US camp

Other MLS players on the Canada squad include: Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Dejan Jakovic (D.C. United), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Terry Dunfield (Toronto FC), Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Russel Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps) and Matt Stinson (Toronto FC).

Canada Squad

Goalkeepers (3): Lars Hirschfeld (Vålerenga/Norway), Roberto Stillo (Genoa /Italy), Simon Thomas (unattached)

Defenders (6): Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Nana Attakora (FC Haka/Finland), Dejan Jakovic (D.C. United), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Mason Trafford (IFK Mariehamn/Finland), Andres Fresenga (Racing Club de Montevideo/Uruguay)

Midfielders (10): Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby/Sweden), Philippe Davies (Richmond Kickers), Terry Dunfield (Toronto FC), Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Jonathan Beaulieu-Bourgault (unattached), Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United), Emmanuel Gomez (Club Atlético Griffa/Argentina), Matt Stinson (Toronto FC), Evan James (unattached)

Forwards (3): Tosaint Ricketts (Sandnes Ulf/Norway), Kyle Porter (FC Edmonton), Frank Jonke (FF Jaro/Finland)