121119 RGV Roster Moves
Isaiah J. Downing/Switchbacks FC

Rio Grande Valley FC Toros announce roster moves

The Rio Grande Valley FC Toros have announced a number of roster moves as the club begins preparations for the 2020 USL Championship season.

The club picked up contract options on seven players for the 2019 season: Dynamo Academy products FW Nico Lemoine and MF Kevin Rodriguez; DF Robert Coronado, MF Isidro Martinez, FW Juan Carlos Obregon, DF Andrew Samuels and GK Ben Willis.

The club declined contract options on eight players: MF Andres Arcila, MF Hector Copete, GK Nico Corti, DF Conor Donovan, MF Brad Dunwell, MF Romilio Hernandez, DF Sergio Mena and DF Carlos Viveros. The loans for two players expired following the conclusion of the 2019 season: MF Deshane Beckford and FW Carlos Small.

Eight players are out of contract at the end of the 2019 season: DF Kyle Adams, MF David Cabrera, DF Robert Castellanos, MF Jesus Enriquez, MF Victor Garza, DF Zach Jackson, FW Camilo Monroy and FW Aldo Quintanilla. For a number of these players, conversations with the club about returning in 2020 are ongoing.

“We want to thank each of these players for their dedication and commitment to the club,” said RGV FC General Manger Nick Kowba. “These roster decisions are always challenging, but we’re confident with the group returning and a few recent signings that will be announced soon we are putting ourselves in a position to have success in 2020.”

Including the players whose contract options were picked up, the Toros currently have seven players under contract.