HOU_012718_cabrera_training
Trask Smith

Houston Dynamo announce 2019 preseason schedule

The Houston Dynamo will open preseason training in preparation for their 2019 campaign on Tuesday, January 15, the club announced today. The club begins preseason a week earlier than normal this year due to its participation in the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League.

Over the course of five weeks, third-year head coach Wilmer Cabrera and his staff will work to finalize the roster and shape the team that will take the field this year. The 2019 season, fueled by 76®, will officially kick off on Tuesday, Feb. 19 in Guatemala City when the Dynamo face CD Guastatoya in the first leg of the Concacaf Champions League Round of 16.

The Dynamo will play their first home game of the year on Tuesday, Feb. 26 against Guastatoya in the second leg of that series, then kick off their 2019 Major League Soccer campaign on Saturday, March 2 at BBVA Compass Stadium against Real Salt Lake.

The team will spend the first three weeks of preseason camp in Houston and will conduct three warm-up matches during that window. RGV FC, the club’s USL Championship hybrid affiliate, will visit Houston to train with the First Team, and the two sides will face off on Saturday, Jan. 26 and Tuesday, Jan. 29 before the Dynamo conduct an intrasquad scrimmage on Saturday, Feb. 2.

Following the scrimmage, the Dynamo will return to Tucson, Arizona for 11 days in February to compete against other MLS clubs in the annual Mobile Mini Sun Cup preseason tournament. Houston will face Minnesota United on Wednesday, Feb. 6, Seattle Sounders FC on Saturday, Feb. 9 and Sporting Kansas City on Wednesday, Feb. 13 before returning to Houston on Feb. 14 to finalize preparations for CD Guastatoya.

Streaming information for all of the club’s preseason matches will be released in the coming days.

Tickets for both the CD Guastatoya match and Opening Day against Real Salt Lake are on sale now with prices starting as low as $24 at HoustonDynamo.com, by phone at 713-276-4625 (GOAL) and at the BBVA Compass Stadium box office. Season tickets for the entire 2019 home campaign are also available, starting at $310, by phone at 713-276-4625 (GOAL).

HOUSTON DYNAMO KEY PRESEASON DATES
DATE GAME/EVENT TIME (CST)
Monday, January 14 Players report for the start of preseason N/A
Tuesday, January 15 First Day of Preseason Training 10:00 AM
Saturday, January 26 Open Practice/Preseason Game vs. RGVFC 6:00 PM
Tuesday, January 29 Preseason Game vs. RGVFC 7:00 PM
Saturday, February 2 Intrasquad scrimmage 10:00 AM
Monday, February 4 Team travels to Tucson, Ariz. N/A
Wednesday, February 6 Game vs. Minnesota United FC (Tucson, AZ) 7:00 PM
Saturday, February 9 Game vs. Seattle Sounders FC (Tucson, AZ) 7:00 PM
Wednesday, February 13 Game vs. Sporting Kansas City (Tucson, AZ 5:00 PM
Thursday, February 14 Return to Houston N/A
Tuesday, February 19 Game at CD Guastatoya (SCCL) 9:00 PM
Tuesday, February 26 Game vs. CD Guastatoya (SCCL) 7:00 PM
Saturday, March2 MLS Opener vs. Real Salt Lake 5:00 PM