Wilf Thorne/Houston Dynamo

Four Days to Opening Day: A look at the Number 4s in Houston Dynamo history

Now only four days from the 2016 MLS season opener – Houston Dynamo versus New England Revolution at 2 p.m. on Sunday at BBVA Compass Stadium (TICKETS) – we continue our review of Dynamo jersey history. We started at No. 10 last Thursday and continue today with No. 4, currently worn by Agus Garcia and previously home to Jermaine Taylor, Ryan Cochrane and Patrick Ianni.  

Taylor was selected by the Portland Timbers in Stage 2 of the MLS Re-Entry Draft in January, ending a five-year run in Houston. The Jamaica international started two MLS Cup Finals for the Dynamo, playing left back in the 2011 Final and center back in 2012.

Taylor helped the Dynamo reach the 2011 Final, coming off the bench to have a hand in the opening goal in an upset of Sporting Kansas City in the Eastern Conference Final (more below). Taylor also played right back for the Dynamo, appearing in 119 games across all competitions and falling just shy of 10,000 minutes with the club (9,976). The defender appeared in six playoff games with Houston and made 23 or more starts in three straight seasons (2012-14).

We detailed the exploits of Cochrane, including starts in the 2006 and 2006 MLS Cup Final victories when he wore the No. 5 shirt, in Tuesday’s Dynamo jersey review.

A member of both MLS Cup-winning teams, Ianni appeared in 35 regular-season games (19 starts) for the Dynamo from 2006-08. The defender was a key figure for Houston in the CONCACAF Champions League and other international matches, with 13 appearances and 10 starts in international competition for Houston.

Best Dynamo moment in the No. 4 jersey: Jermaine Taylor was a super-sub for the Dynamo in 2011, his first season with the club. In the 2011 Eastern Conference Final, a one-game tie at Sporting Kansas City’s new stadium, Taylor came off the bench in a hostile situation, replacing MLS MVP runner-up Brad Davis in the 39th minute after the Dynamo captain tore his quadriceps. Eight minutes after halftime, Taylor raced to get on the end of Adam Moffat’s set piece and his header forced a save from Jimmy Nielsen. Andre Hainault buried the rebound from close range for a 1-0 lead and the Dynamo rolled to a 2-0 win for a road upset and a return to MLS Cup.

Honorable mention: Taylor scored one of the earliest goals in Dynamo history, just 73 seconds into a 2-0 victory over the New York Red Bulls on Aug. 3, 2012 at BBVA Compass Stadium. The win extended Houston’s win streak to five and unbeaten streak to eight as the Dynamo climbed to first place in the Eastern Conference. It was Taylor’s only goal in 119 games with Houston.   

Dynamo jersey history, all-time. No. 4 jersey:

Chris Aloisi, 2006
Patrick Ianni, 2007-08
Ryan Cocrane, 2009-10
Jermaine Taylor, 2011-2015
Agus Garcia, 2016-

Countdown to Opening Day:

10—A look at Dynamo No. 10s
9—No. 9s in Dynamo history
8—No. 8s in Dynamo history
7—No. 7s in Dynamo history
6—No. 6s in Dynamo history
5—No. 5s in Dynamo history